Dad's Oyster Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
It didn't have much taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gennie
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Great combination of rice and oyster! I mixed all the ingredients (except paprika for I ran out of it) in a bowl and put them in turkey. The result was awesome! Wild rice was nice and crunchy and everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranberrygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I simple but very good recipe. Not being able to remember the way my Mom made it, I took this recipe and added to it. I used Tasso instead of the pork and added ground meat and merliton. A very good dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
If you are looking for a creative alternative to bread or corn bread based stuffing/dressing, this is a good choice. I made the classic cooking 101 mistake; I added one teaspoon of salt without tasting the mixture. That was *way* too much (you may not need to add any), so I used some potatoes to remove some of the salt flavor, which seemed to work pretty well (though it sounds like a myth to me). I really enjoyed this combination of flavors. I used more sausage than what was called for, close to a pound, which was a good choice. Next time I will add more oysters or not chop them as finely. We did not notice the oysters in individual bites because I chopped them so finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I've made this recipe many times and it's always a hit. I use 2 boxes of Uncle Ben's Wild Rice with seasoning, 1 lb of sage sausage, and I dice up the oysters VERY small. It's GREAT. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoMakeJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
added no oysters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a great hit with my seafood-loving friends. I modified it somewhat by adding soy sauce swirled in hot butter and not using the oven at all, since it was full of other things at Thanksgiving. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I don't like this, Mark did. I'll probably never make again. If I do, rinse canned oysters under cold water. I also halved recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is really tasty if you are a fan of oysters and wild rice. I made it as a main dish casserole, not a side dish, and I think next time I'll use half the amount of rice to concentrate the other flavors. But as a dressing, it was pretty close to perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States