Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great recipe. I was shocked to see both of my kids eat every bite without any complaints about trying something new. They loved it! Plus it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I follow the recipe and this was the best pot pie I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Awesome Recipe! So quick and easy but since I had time I changed a few things up. I chopped fresh carrots but used frozen peas. Instead of chopped onion I used pearl onions and instead of green beans I used corn. I melted the butter and sauteed the celery, carrot, garlic and onion along with bay, thyme, sage, parsley, a tsp of tumeric for color, and the rest of the ingredients but I omitted the italian seasoning and onion powder. When I dumped in the flour I let it brown a bit before adding the milk and chicken stock. I added the thawed veggies, I just ran them under cold water and strained them. I used some pulled turkey I had frozen from thanks giving and it came out awesome!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I abosolutely loved this recipe! I made one pie and put the remainder in the freezer to use later. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I made it pretty much exactly as written, except that I didn't have a frozen pea/carrot mix, so I used 1 cup of fresh diced carrots and 1 cup of frozen peas. I also used only a top crust on the pie; a double crust would have been way to rich for me and my family! The filling was awesome, very rich, buttery, creamy, and filling, with just the right amount of veggies and turkey. It was so nice and thick as well...a lot of pot pie recipes out there are to thin for my taste! My family really enjoyed this, and I'd make it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Absolutely AMAZING. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I followed this recipe almost exactly and was extremely happy with the result. My only modifications were that I made 4 individual pot pies (10oz. ramekins) as opposed to one big pot pie (9"). And my only comment to the negative is that the filling was a bit too thick. I like to be able to dip my crust in my filling and it was a bit difficult. Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll either use less flour, or more milk. I'll let you know which it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was a delicious recipe for that leftover turkey. I was lazy and topped ours with mashed potatoes (I am incapable of producing a 'pretty' pie), but I am sure the pie crust would have been terrific. There's a nice combination of vegetables here, but I think this is one you could play with a little based on what you have on hand. This is my new base recipe for pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Turned out Perfect! Wasn't runny at all. When I added the flour I let it cook a bit before adding the liquid. It was like a thick gravy even after adding all the liquid. Used what I had on hand: 12 oz bag of mixed veggies still frozen (peas, carrots, green beans, corn), no celery, leftover chicken. Had to cover the edges with foil. Looking forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States