Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just made this with our leftover turkey. I didn't have celery seed so used celery salt instead and lowered the amount of salt by half. I also used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables. So good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this tonight. I cooked regular carrots, cooked for 25 min, and added them instead of the beans. I also used bob's red mill all purpose flour (cup4cup) to make it gluten free. Turned out perfect. I will try using summer savoury instead of the Italian seasoning, next time, to try and recreate my hubby's favourite maritime turkey pie. Excellent recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very, very good! Since I've been cooking for 40 years I knew not to discard the water from the veggies... I used frozen and added them to the milk and broth to heat them through. I bake mine (as I do ALL pies) at 425 for 15 minutes, then turn the oven down (without opening the door)to 350 and cooking another 30 minutes. Pies are always evenly baked and never burned or too overdone or underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Really, really good! I added leftover corn and beans in addition to the fresh and frozen ones so I used up even more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Pretty darn good for a left over recipe. Cut it in half for 1 pie and used 1/4 cup butter and less salt and extra chicken stock. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe for pot pie! My hubby loved it and he normally is not crazy about chicken pot pie! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Omg my family o f 5 picky eaters tore up this pot pie!! Simple to make and delicious. Definitely adding this to my regular grocery list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Delicious! Used a bag of mixed vegetable -peas, carrots, green beans, and corn- and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I haven't finished it yet, but I know it's going to be good. This is a very forgiving recipe. I did not use more than one pot, just sautéed the veggies adding them one at a time. The rutabaga that I added was a little too firm. No problem, I just turned the flame on low and simmered until tender. I added a little ground savory and took advantage of my late harvest CSA share. I substituted butternut squash for carrots, grated celeriac for celery, etc. I have already tasted the filling, and mmmm.... Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Really good!!! Based on someone else's suggestion, I only used 1 pie crust for the top and it was perfect!! Will always make this with my leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States