Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! We smoked an extra turkey so I was looking for ways to use my leftovers. I made it for dinner everyone loved it. I used only 1/2 c butter and omitted the green beans and added diced potatoes instead (used what I had in hand). I didn't change anything else. Seasoned perfectly. I am definitely saving this recipe. Thanks for this delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I skipped the green beans and substituted more peas/carrots. Came out quite well. It is pretty thick, so if you prefer a thinner filling, add more milk and/or less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
If I could give this a 10 I would... so delicious... of course I made some little changes....added potatoes, sauted mushrooms, used fresh green beans and carrots, added a splash of white wine to the sauce, omitted onion powder and last but not least, egg washed the crust to obtain a glossy crust. I realize that this seems like a lot of changes, but that is what makes this such a great recipe. You can add just about anything you'd like....you can't ruin this. I will make this over and over again... maybe with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Super tasty and yummy. I didn't change a thing. All picky eaters in the house at it up! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
easy, tastes great. Much better than pot pies that require cream of mushroom or cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Very good way to use up the turkey! We halved the recipe so it was good for one meal for the 4 of us. I did find that the gravy was very thick and I had to just about double the amount of chicken broth. Not a problem and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I cut the recipe in half. Very good. Would be good over noodles and no crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was the best ever! I followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. Made two 9" pies. Great for left over Thanksgiving turkey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
so I halved the recipe for a single pie. I also used broccoli instead of peas, carrots, and green beans, because of preference. I skipped the celery salt because I didn't have it, and substituted heavy cream for the milk to make the mixture thicker. It was done in 35 minutes, and everyone else thought it was great. I felt it was bland, but that could have been because I was mentally comparing it to the cheesy Marie Calender's pot pies. Next time I'd add carrots as well as more onions and mushrooms, and I'd try it with chicken instead of turkey. UPDATE: I made it again to use up a rotisserie chicken, with a bunch of mods. Used 2c frozen carrot/broccoli/cauliflower mix for the veggies, skipped the celery, did 1/2 c. onions, added 5 sliced mushrooms, and kept the heavy whipping cream instead of milk (though I would try milk in the future). I realized after I made the mixture that I only had 1 pie crust, so I used that on the bottom and a can of Grands biscuits stretched out for the top. If you use biscuits on the top, you don't need a bottom crust - too much bread! I preferred the crust, though. mushrooms were good add, I'll keep using those, and I like this mix of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I gave this recipe to my DIL and she tried it with the leftover meat from Thanksgiving. It was easy to throw together and it was a BIG HIT!!! We thought there would be leftovers for the next day, but that was not the case at all. The men just kept taking a little more and a little more until it was gone. Make sure to let the recipe set for awhile after you take it out of the oven. We did not have a problem with it being too runny. Just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States