Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Except for using a bag of mixed vegetables and letting it just thaw instead of cooking it I followed the recipe exactly..First pot pie I ever made and will probably be the only one ever make..this was awesome. Especially liked the fact the filling was not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Excellent. Others' suggestions were helpful: cooking vegetables in broth and reserving for sauce is easy and nutritious. I also used a top crust only, to cut on pastry and calories- the filling is so delicious you don't miss it. I had to increase the milk a little to obtain a proper consistency for the sauce; if not the sauce is too thick. The extra milk makes the sauce just right, not runny. Delicious with turkey or chicken. Hint: watch heated butter and onions carefully so it does not brown. Very easy and welcome on a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was amazing! Very flavorful. The only thing we changed was using a puff pastry for the top crust, since we happened to have one. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I have made this with both chicken, turkey, and vegetarian. When making vegetarian I use vegetable broth, and no meat. This is my FAV pot pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this pie,but ran out of turkey and use some ham. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just made this with our leftover turkey. I didn't have celery seed so used celery salt instead and lowered the amount of salt by half. I also used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables. So good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this tonight. I cooked regular carrots, cooked for 25 min, and added them instead of the beans. I also used bob's red mill all purpose flour (cup4cup) to make it gluten free. Turned out perfect. I will try using summer savoury instead of the Italian seasoning, next time, to try and recreate my hubby's favourite maritime turkey pie. Excellent recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very, very good! Since I've been cooking for 40 years I knew not to discard the water from the veggies... I used frozen and added them to the milk and broth to heat them through. I bake mine (as I do ALL pies) at 425 for 15 minutes, then turn the oven down (without opening the door)to 350 and cooking another 30 minutes. Pies are always evenly baked and never burned or too overdone or underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Really, really good! I added leftover corn and beans in addition to the fresh and frozen ones so I used up even more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States