Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I reduced this recipe to make 1 pie instead of 2 and we LOVED it!! I did make two changes... 1) I made this in an 8 1/2 inch deep dish "cover and carry" aluminum pan. 2) I increased the milk by about 1/3 more milk. I will most definitely be making this recipe again. I am also going to be sure to include it in the recipe binder I am making for my youngest son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
A nearly perfect comfort food. I made this using leftover Thanksgiving turkey, deviating from the original recipe, only by adding a cup of diced potatoes to the mix. It worked out very well and was enjoyed by all. It's a basic, no fail recipe that can be tailored to any taste. I'm sure I'll be making some version of this for years to come. Thanks for sharing Rob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time last night, and it came out great. I didn't have any Italian seasoning, but I had everything else, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Yummy quick and easy.. First time I have ever made pot pie. I'll definitely make it again. I used fresh carrotts & celery, frozen peas and green beans. I did not have celery seed or onion powder....still awsome without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristmasGoose
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Great recipe, although I changed it a bit. I added diced potatoes, cooked all of the vegetables in chicken stock, didn't let the bechamel get quite so thick and I nixed half of the seasonings, adding fresh thyme and rosemary. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was to die for good! I substituted the green beans for potatoes (that's what I had handy) and it was amazing! If you add potatoes like I did I would add about 1/4 cup extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
No one will read this because I rated it 5 stars... but this recipe earned 5+ stars. I added potatoes instead of green beans, personal preference. Other than that I follwed the recipe as is. The pie wasn't too rich. The seasonings were well balanced. It definitely wasn't bland. My guinea pigs were a 5, 6, and 7 year old... along with a picky anti pot pie eating husband. I talked him into tasting the filling. He said, "Wow, I guess I'll be eating that instead of frozen pizza." Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was fantastic! I made a slight modification, instead of a bottom crust, I used leftover mashed potatoes. (trying to clean out the leftovers). I will definitely make it again, and try it with the double crusts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Lin, don't know where your taste buds are at, but this recipe is great. I used it for the first time last year after Thanksgiving,and it was so good, I'm back this year to make another one. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Lampman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was by FAR the BEST turkey pot pie recipe I have ever had AND made. It was so good it even prompted me to leave this review! I’ve been using allrecipes.com for YEARS and never left a review! That being said, this is what I changed: INSTEAD of the (2) cups frozen peas and carrots and (2) cups frozen green beans I added: (1) cup frozen peas, (1) cup frozen carrots, (1) cup frozen green beans and (1) cup frozen corn. I boiled the frozen veggies and celery in the chicken stock instead of water, as mentioned by someone else to save the nutrients. Simply drained and kept the stock for the next steps – I had to add a little more stock to what was left because of boil-off though. I omitted the celery seed because I didn’t have any, but added about 1/8 tsp of Ground Nutmeg for flavor. HANDS DOWN DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States