Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This truly is spectacular this will be our go to recipe for turkey/chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
5 stars says it all. This was wonderful fresh and as leftovers for a couple days. Used a mixed veggie bag with peas, green beans, carrots and corn. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe is great! I cook for a family of picky eaters so I had to customize it a bit... I omitted the carrots and celery and added one chopped red bell pepper (cooked along with onion), sliced baby bella mushrooms (also cooked along with onion), and a few diced red potatoes which I added to the mixture right before I spooned it into the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is not only easy, but tastes awesome too! Great for turkey leftovers. I just used whatever veggies I had around in the freezer too. My family wants me to try it using beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was really delicious. The proportions are perfect if you like a thick, creamy filling. My tweaks: I subbed the milk with almond milk and we couldn't tell. Used puff pastry and cut slits on top. The crust was perfectly golden. Used 1 cup of fresh carrots and 1 cup of fresh broccoli instead of 2 cups of frozen carrots and peas. I boiled the veggies in turkey broth and used it in my recipe instead of the chicken broth. Sautéed the celery with the onions until they were soft. Added a dash of garlic salt but I forgot that since my turkey was brined, I could have used less salt overall so it was a little too salty for my taste but my boyfriend said he didn't notice. Next time I will use less pepper and use freshly ground instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Perfect comfort food! I added a little extra black pepper, used homemade stock because I had some in the freezer and left out the green beans because I didn't have any. Even though our family usually prefers heavily seasoned food, they loved this mellow, yet very flavorful, pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
made as directed with leftover turkey; it turned out great. The consistency was think and creamy, a definite do again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I am a terrible cook! Nothing I cook turns out GOOD! Nothing!! However, this was the best!!!! I am so proud of myself. The best pot pie I have ever had!! I ate it for Breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner. I simmered my veggies a little longer, added canned cubed potatoes (that I drained), and added a little more chicken stock & milk at the end (only because it looked a little thick). I used Pillsbury frozen deep dish pie crust, and topped it with the Pillsbury roll-type pie crust for the top. (You can find this in the canned biscuit section. Two rolls came in the box). After putting the roll-type pie crust on top, I pinched the edges to make a design. This was beautiful. I am a firm believer to always use "name-brand" stuff, so I used Byrd's Eye Frozen Peas and Byrd's Eye Frozen green beans. Yumm! Yumm! Also, I did not put my pies in a pie dish, because the Pillsbury Frozen Deep Dish Pie Crust were already in a metal pie pan. I placed both pies on top of a baking sheet. Note: While I was preparing everything, I left the frozen pie shells out, so they had time to unthaw. Yumm!Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great way to use up leftover turkey. Very tasty. I used a can of green beans since that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made a "few" changes to use up more of our Christmas dinner leftovers. I cooked the veggies in veggie broth instead of water drained a bit of it into my mashed potatoes and the rest I used instead of the chicken broth. I stirred in my leftover gravy into the sautéd onions instead of using flour as my gravy was quite thick. As another reviewer suggested, I replaced the pie-crust with mashed potatoes. It was actually quite pretty with the ribbons of white potatoes and sweet potatoes on the top. I sprinkled paprika on top for the finishing touch. Baked it uncovered for 40 minutes at 350°. A great way to use up all the leftovers. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States