Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This truly is spectacular this will be our go to recipe for turkey/chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
5 stars says it all. This was wonderful fresh and as leftovers for a couple days. Used a mixed veggie bag with peas, green beans, carrots and corn. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe is great! I cook for a family of picky eaters so I had to customize it a bit... I omitted the carrots and celery and added one chopped red bell pepper (cooked along with onion), sliced baby bella mushrooms (also cooked along with onion), and a few diced red potatoes which I added to the mixture right before I spooned it into the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is not only easy, but tastes awesome too! Great for turkey leftovers. I just used whatever veggies I had around in the freezer too. My family wants me to try it using beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was really delicious. The proportions are perfect if you like a thick, creamy filling. My tweaks: I subbed the milk with almond milk and we couldn't tell. Used puff pastry and cut slits on top. The crust was perfectly golden. Used 1 cup of fresh carrots and 1 cup of fresh broccoli instead of 2 cups of frozen carrots and peas. I boiled the veggies in turkey broth and used it in my recipe instead of the chicken broth. Sautéed the celery with the onions until they were soft. Added a dash of garlic salt but I forgot that since my turkey was brined, I could have used less salt overall so it was a little too salty for my taste but my boyfriend said he didn't notice. Next time I will use less pepper and use freshly ground instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Perfect comfort food! I added a little extra black pepper, used homemade stock because I had some in the freezer and left out the green beans because I didn't have any. Even though our family usually prefers heavily seasoned food, they loved this mellow, yet very flavorful, pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
made as directed with leftover turkey; it turned out great. The consistency was think and creamy, a definite do again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I am a terrible cook! Nothing I cook turns out GOOD! Nothing!! However, this was the best!!!! I am so proud of myself. The best pot pie I have ever had!! I ate it for Breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner. I simmered my veggies a little longer, added canned cubed potatoes (that I drained), and added a little more chicken stock & milk at the end (only because it looked a little thick). I used Pillsbury frozen deep dish pie crust, and topped it with the Pillsbury roll-type pie crust for the top. (You can find this in the canned biscuit section. Two rolls came in the box). After putting the roll-type pie crust on top, I pinched the edges to make a design. This was beautiful. I am a firm believer to always use "name-brand" stuff, so I used Byrd's Eye Frozen Peas and Byrd's Eye Frozen green beans. Yumm! Yumm! Also, I did not put my pies in a pie dish, because the Pillsbury Frozen Deep Dish Pie Crust were already in a metal pie pan. I placed both pies on top of a baking sheet. Note: While I was preparing everything, I left the frozen pie shells out, so they had time to unthaw. Yumm!Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great way to use up leftover turkey. Very tasty. I used a can of green beans since that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made a "few" changes to use up more of our Christmas dinner leftovers. I cooked the veggies in veggie broth instead of water drained a bit of it into my mashed potatoes and the rest I used instead of the chicken broth. I stirred in my leftover gravy into the sautéd onions instead of using flour as my gravy was quite thick. As another reviewer suggested, I replaced the pie-crust with mashed potatoes. It was actually quite pretty with the ribbons of white potatoes and sweet potatoes on the top. I sprinkled paprika on top for the finishing touch. Baked it uncovered for 40 minutes at 350°. A great way to use up all the leftovers. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States