Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this with our leftover turkey, and there was NO leftover turkey pot pie! Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as it is here, no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Absolutely Delicious! Can't wait for the Christmas Turkey if for no other reason than to make this recipe again!. I followed it pretty much to the "T" except I had no onion powder so I used closer to a cup of chopped onion and I added diced Yukon Gold Potatoes. next time will probably add mushrooms as well. you can really add or omit any veggies/meat in this as the real star of the show is the sauce. This held together well and was creamy and just down right Yummy! I made the full recipe but only made one pie. I'm freezing the filling for another pie I will make at a later date since my family didn't need 2 pies right now and I didn't want to put it together only to have a soggy crust when thawed and baked. will update this review once I've thawed and used the extra filling to let you know how it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
As written, the pies are bland however the consistency was right on. There was no liquid in the filling at all. I modified as follows: 2 Yukon gold potatoes ,diced in bite size chunks and added to the veggies after they were cooked. I cooked the veggies in the broth as others suggested and saved the broth for the sauce. I also added some fresh carrots to the veggies to give the pie some more mass and texture. Lastly, i let the butter, onion and flour mix cookmfor 5 more minutes to help brown the mixture before adding thenstock and milk. One pie served 6 people and the sides were a green salad and a green vegetable. The family said it was a 5 star recipe with my modifications. They really liked how packed the filling was with veggies and meat and that the filling stood up by itself and nothing ran outside of the pie shaped slices I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karebro
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was delicious! It was the first pot pie I have ever made and it is certainly going in the rotation. I followed the recipe, only I just dumped the spices (didn't measure) and used a "cheater" pie crust (red box in the freezer section of my grocery store):) A thousand times YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
great, a little dry I would add a little more liquid next time. Otherwise, it's wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Terrific recipe. The family loved it. Instead of a double crust, I used left over stuffing and pressed it into the bottom of a casserole dish, then poured in the filling, then topped it with the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Got this recipe last year right after Thanksgiving and made the pies exactly as described - perfection! Since then, I've altered it to make other versions like chicken and mushroom. This is a terrific recipe whether you follow it 100$ or play around with it. Use whatever leftovers you have and just don't count the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great recipe! What makes it extra special is how easy it is to make this to suit your family's taste. I added about 6 cups of vegetables, including the onion. I used 1 cup each of carrots, potatoes, green beans , corn and celery, and precooking everything except the corn. It turned out wonderful. Of course I'm sure it's great if you follow the recipe exactly, but why not make it with what you like best. I made it Saturday after Thanksgiving ... I just happened to some turkey in the fridge. Thanks Rob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Loved it! It is easy to change the veggies and seasonings, and the topping. I used a cornbread topping. I was making it for 6 so I reduced amounts to 1/2 cup celery and onion, 2 T. butter, and smaller amounts of vegetables, peas, corn, potato, carrots. I seasoned with the salt, pepper, freeze dried poultry seasoning. I used Pillsbury Shake and Blend Flour which makes a smooth gravy, but is mixed with cold liquid (the 1c. cold chicken broth and 1/3 cold milk). Then I used a cornbread topping. (1pkg.cornbread mix, 2/3 c. milk and 1 lg. egg). Poured it over the turkey and veggie mix, baked at 400 for 25 -30 minutes. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Susan Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States