Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I did not have pie crusts around the house today so I just mixed up some Bisquick and poured it over the top of the casserole but the contents were awesome and enjoyed by all. I almost always omit the salt in recipes like this and I definitely did NOT miss the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made this with leftover holiday turkey and it was perfect! We used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables that included corn, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. We usually find SOMETHING that needs to change in a recipe, but we wouldn't change a thing with this one! This will be a new post-holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Family approved. All liked Pillsbury GF crust. Daughter preferred it to be chicken. Also added corn. Used canned peas/carrots. Made a little extra sauce. Will maybe add potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexxlily
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
great recipe was easy to make n soooo yummy I added a little salt and curry powder also for a bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Just took the pies out of the oven and can't wait for dinner. I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe by Dana on this site and OMG...fantastic!!! This is the third time making this recipe and will definitely be a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Hubby said, "If I didn't see you make this, I wouldn't believe it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol G. DeAngelis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This recipe is a great base. I doubled the entire recipe with the following changes. I used fresh carrots and doubled the amount of herbs. I added about 1 1/2 cups fresh crimini mushrooms and sauteed the onions, carrots, celery, and mushrooms to take advantage of the flavor from the carmelization. I used two 11 X 13 inch pans and used only a top crust to lighten it up. I put in about 2 to 3 tablespoons of curry powder into half of the filling so I have a different taste for the second pie. My have four kids and husband devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Absolutely amazing will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this for my family's day after Christmas dinner potluck and it was a hit! So easy to make but looks like it took a lot of work. I subbed the frozen veggies for fresh (except for the peas) and took the advice of boiling them in the chicken stock. I also added fresh thyme, sage and rosemary. I used Trader Joe's ready made pie crusts and added an egg wash on top before baking which gave the crust a beautiful color. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I would make a couple of changes next time. I would like a little more of the gravy for the mix so I would up that slightly. I did use puff pastry on the top which worked out very nicely and I used the vegetable water for the chicken stock. I was able to drastically reduce the amount of butter (by about 75%) I used by simply adding the flour to the cooled broth and milk rather than to the onion and butter mix they suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States