Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight, turned out great. As for the dreaded modifications; I did cut the butter to 1/2 cup cause we were short on it, and added a whole onion, probably 1 1/3 cups, cause I like onion. Also added a diced potato to sub for some of the celery and carrot which turned out to be a nice addition. I used a basic oil/water/flour pie crust. My only minor complaint was it was a little runny, next time I will cut bigger slits in the top crust and bake it a little longer. Overall the flavor was very good, and I especially liked that there was no canned cream of "whatever" involved. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Awesome Recipe! So quick and easy but since I had time I changed a few things up. I chopped fresh carrots but used frozen peas. Instead of chopped onion I used pearl onions and instead of green beans I used corn. I melted the butter and sauteed the celery, carrot, garlic and onion along with bay, thyme, sage, parsley, a tsp of tumeric for color, and the rest of the ingredients but I omitted the italian seasoning and onion powder. When I dumped in the flour I let it brown a bit before adding the milk and chicken stock. I added the thawed veggies, I just ran them under cold water and strained them. I used some pulled turkey I had frozen from thanks giving and it came out awesome!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was fantastic! So easy and quick to make. I used a bag of mixed veggies (corn, peas, carrots, greenbeans, lima beans) and everything else was per the recipe. Delicious. My whole family loved it and my Hubby ate seconds. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
For extra flavour and to preserve nutrients, simmer the vegetables in the broth instead of water. Of course, you don't discard the broth, you just whisk broth and vegetables into your onion and flour mixture:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giardino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I made it pretty much exactly as written, except that I didn't have a frozen pea/carrot mix, so I used 1 cup of fresh diced carrots and 1 cup of frozen peas. I also used only a top crust on the pie; a double crust would have been way to rich for me and my family! The filling was awesome, very rich, buttery, creamy, and filling, with just the right amount of veggies and turkey. It was so nice and thick as well...a lot of pot pie recipes out there are to thin for my taste! My family really enjoyed this, and I'd make it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is without a doubt the best pot pie recipe I have tried,,, I have made it several times with chicken and I also added sliced mushrooms with the butter and oinions,, and used homemade chicken broth,, it was just a really good meal, and will make it again and again, several of my friends had requested one of my pies and it keeps and reheats well,, thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I followed this recipe almost exactly and was extremely happy with the result. My only modifications were that I made 4 individual pot pies (10oz. ramekins) as opposed to one big pot pie (9"). And my only comment to the negative is that the filling was a bit too thick. I like to be able to dip my crust in my filling and it was a bit difficult. Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll either use less flour, or more milk. I'll let you know which it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was awesome. I'm newly married and I like to try new recipes. Everyone loved it. My mom went back for 2nds!! I use fresh veggies & add cubed potatoes and leave out the bottom crust to lighten it up. Since we have a small family, we froze one of the pies & it cooked up fine. I put it in the fridge to thaw for one day and cooked as normal. I also brush it with an egg wash. This recipe is tops!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
It didn't last long!! This was my first attempt at making a turkey pot pie and it was a success. It is an easy recipe to follow and oh so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I follow the recipe and this was the best pot pie I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States