Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I did not have pie crusts around the house today so I just mixed up some Bisquick and poured it over the top of the casserole but the contents were awesome and enjoyed by all. I almost always omit the salt in recipes like this and I definitely did NOT miss the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made this with leftover holiday turkey and it was perfect! We used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables that included corn, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. We usually find SOMETHING that needs to change in a recipe, but we wouldn't change a thing with this one! This will be a new post-holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Family approved. All liked Pillsbury GF crust. Daughter preferred it to be chicken. Also added corn. Used canned peas/carrots. Made a little extra sauce. Will maybe add potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexxlily
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
great recipe was easy to make n soooo yummy I added a little salt and curry powder also for a bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Just took the pies out of the oven and can't wait for dinner. I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe by Dana on this site and OMG...fantastic!!! This is the third time making this recipe and will definitely be a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Hubby said, "If I didn't see you make this, I wouldn't believe it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol G. DeAngelis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This recipe is a great base. I doubled the entire recipe with the following changes. I used fresh carrots and doubled the amount of herbs. I added about 1 1/2 cups fresh crimini mushrooms and sauteed the onions, carrots, celery, and mushrooms to take advantage of the flavor from the carmelization. I used two 11 X 13 inch pans and used only a top crust to lighten it up. I put in about 2 to 3 tablespoons of curry powder into half of the filling so I have a different taste for the second pie. My have four kids and husband devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Absolutely amazing will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this for my family's day after Christmas dinner potluck and it was a hit! So easy to make but looks like it took a lot of work. I subbed the frozen veggies for fresh (except for the peas) and took the advice of boiling them in the chicken stock. I also added fresh thyme, sage and rosemary. I used Trader Joe's ready made pie crusts and added an egg wash on top before baking which gave the crust a beautiful color. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I would make a couple of changes next time. I would like a little more of the gravy for the mix so I would up that slightly. I did use puff pastry on the top which worked out very nicely and I used the vegetable water for the chicken stock. I was able to drastically reduce the amount of butter (by about 75%) I used by simply adding the flour to the cooled broth and milk rather than to the onion and butter mix they suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States