Dad's Kentucky Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very tasty, but takes a lot longer than 15 minutes to cook the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I sprinkled the potatoes with a little Johnny's seasoning salt (instead of regular salt) and fresh ground pepper but other than that, I followed the recipe exact. Delicious. I made these to go along chili dogs. My husband said this is exactly how HIS dad made home fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are the same potatoes I've eaten for the past 52 years ... just plain 'ol southern country cooking. Here's a yummy tip ... cover your skillet and cook on medium, turning every few minutes to keep the potatoes from burning until the potatoes are soft then uncover, turn up the heat and brown til they're nice & crispy on the bottom. I also liberally add onion powder w/the salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
With butter, this was pretty heavy, would probably be heavier with bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great recipe. But to kick them up try adding some fresh thyme. Mmmm Mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
These are good. We just call them fired potatoes. I have eaten them all my life and have prepared them this way all 34 yrs I have been married.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I grew up in the fiftys eating fried potatoes this way. It's the only way eat good home cookin. I will occasionaly fix them this way for me and my granddaughter, she loves them almost as much as I do. Sweetrose46
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
They are probably called Kentucky Home Fries because of the bacon, back in the day...everything would have been cooked in bacon grease, plentiful and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I'm over 65 and my mom used to make potatoes like this. We just called these Fried Potatoes, I'm from PA and we were Italian so this isn't just Southern or Kentucky cooking - I think it's good old American cooking. Yummy - especially when the slices on the bottom of the pan get nice and crunchy. I agree with another reviewer who said you need an iron skillet for these - that what my mom and grandmother used! I don't make these often but now and then as a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Yes, they are good. I add green pepper, yellow squash, and a little green tomato. Also I dice my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States