Dad's Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I made this recipe twice. The first time I followed the directions as written. The cookies were okay but not delicious. My family members at a couple and then I froze the rest to give away. I would give the recipe three stars. The next day, I tried the recipe again making changes suggested by other reviewers. I used butter instead of shortening and I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. These changes made a big difference. Everybody in my family loved them and gobbled them up. They had a better peanut butter flavor and texture that we like. I give the recipe change 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is a great recipe; I did, however, make a few adjustments. Margarine instead of shortening, 1 C brown sugar instead of white and brown, cut out baking soda and used 1 t baking powder, increased PB to 3/4 C. Came out perfect with lots of flavor. Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I didn't need to make this one - it is the same recipe we've been using for years! The only difference is, I don't add any salt. I'd also add that you can change the basic first "mouth impression" of the cookie depending on what you criss cross with. Dip your fork in water, shake it off, and put in FLOUR for a richer, chewier cookie, and WHITE granulated SUGAR for a sweeter, slightly more crunchy finish. Either way, these will disappear fast! Also, if you use the parchment paper on your cookie sheet, the bottoms will come out more evenly. YUM! I'm making some of these today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
At 8 p.m. Leah suggested making cookies. After scanning the pantry, the only ingredients available were for peanut butter cookies. I googled for a recipe and found this one and boy were we lucky. First batch rocked. We played around the next time and added a teaspoon of bourbon and a teaspoon of honey and went with all brown sugar. We rolled the finished dough balls in hot cocoa mix, mmm......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I made these cookies on Wednesday Nov. 5th, 2003. Great cookies. I had tried to write a review of this recipe, but it was too difficult trying to eat the cookies and type at the same time! I am alwyas concerned when I make Peanut Butter Cookies that it won't be Peanutty enough for me. It was wonderfully peanutty! I did add Peanut Butter Chips to the batter just to be on the safe side. I liked the additonal chips in the batter. But I am sure it would have been just fine without them too. ENJOY and make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This is a great recipe but I used 1 cup brown sugar & left out the white sugar. I also used 1/4 c butter & 1/4 c shortening rather than all shortening. This made the cookies alittle bit chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Classic, darned near perfect peanut butter cookie. There's nothing unusual or different about these other than that this is just a good recipe for basic peanut butter cookies! The only thing I felt it needed was vanilla, so I added two teaspoons. Reliable and easy to make. Good looking peanut butter cookie too, just the right thickness. Tender and somewhat sandy with crispy edges, just how I like them. I swore I was only going to taste these just so I could review them but I enjoyed it so much I finished the cookie and had another! Dependably good on its own, but I threw in a bag of peanut butter/chocolate chips. Toe curling good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
I've used many different peanut butter cookie recipes over the years, this is by far the moistest and best rising peanut butter cookie recipe I've found. I've looked many places for a pb cookie recipe this good, as peanut butter cookies are my husband's favorite. He LOVES these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
These cookies turned out WONDERFUL!I was so happy with the results-chewy, and soft. Except the batch I baked didn't have 3 dozen cookies, only about2 and 1/2. Next time I better double this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I just used this recipe in place of the refrigerated cookie dough for the "Double-Delight Peanut Butter Cookies"--the million dollar winner in the bakeoff. The only change I made was to use smooth peanut butter, but that is just a matter of taste. These were great-and so much better than the refrigerated dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States