Dad's Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I cook peanut butter cookies every Christmas but couldn't find my recipe book this year and saw this a good alternative. I followed the recipe exactly and my cookies look nothing like the pictures. They spread out almost completely flat and I did not care for the taste. The cookies never even browned on the bottom at all. I thought they would be better after they cooled but I was wrong. They tasted even worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great basic recipe, but I took the advice of other posters and made some adjustments: Went only with brown sugar, went to 3/4+ cup of peanut butter, and the coup de grace was about 6 slices of crispy bacon, chopped into small bits that I added after the dry ingredients. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdot
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These are really good cookies, however the cooking temp/time is wrong. My first tray came out on the verge of burnt! I lowered the temp to 350F, and reduced the baking time to 6-7 minutes. Let them sit on the tray for a few minutes before transferring them to the cooling rack. The second tray was wonderful! Also, I used smooth peanut butter because I didn't have any crunchy on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I doubled the recipe and the ONLY thing I changed was added 2 tsp vanilla for a double batch and 1/4 C extra peanut butter. I used reduced fat p b and it turned out just fine.The dough was dry after I pulled it out of the fridge but once I rolled it into a ball, it formed nicely :) They baked for 11-12 mins (12 cookies on a sheet) @350 and they turned out YUMMY! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Used butter instead of shortening and 1 cup of brown sugar. Baked for 9 mins and they were perfect, a little crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Don't get me wrong here, we all ate and enjoyed the cookies, however...per the reviews I used unsalted butter for the shortening, increased the p.b. to three quartes of a cup, increased brown sugar to three quarters of a cup,decreased white sugar to one quarter,eliminated baking soda and used one teaspoon of baking powder. Baked at 375 for 7 minutes. Left on sheet one to three minutes to cool before removing. Taste was somewhat buttery as others noted, was it using the smooth p.b. with unsalted butter? Also, they were a little bland as others also noted but I did add vanilla. Liked how they mixed up and baked, got over forty smallish cookies. Will make again using original guidelines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clare'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yes, that is why your cookies spread out like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made these and they came out way too flat, not like a cookie should be. Does anyone know if it could be because I used real butter and low fat peanut butter. I will make them again if I think I could figure out why they spread to about 1/8" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Been making this recipe since it was in the Aunt Jenny's cookie 1952 Spry (shortening) recipe book with 1cup of each major ingredient which made 6 dozen cookies. So you see it is really a keeper and all my kids took the recipe with them when they married. Nonna Nona, Loveland CO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States