Dad's Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These really ARE killer cookies!!! Just wanted to say, you don't have to use crunchy peanut butter- but it does give it a delicious crunchy texture. Also, for a more moist, and soft cookie batch, I always say to add a pack of vanilla pudding mix. It always works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made these but changed a few things. Butter not shortening, extra 1/4 peanut butter, extra 1/4 flour, dash of vanilla, left out the salt and added smarties. Used a cookies cool and baked for 12 minutes and they turned out perfect. Next time I will sprinkle a little surface on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is the same recipe I've used for years, original came out of a Betty Crocker cookbook my hubby gave me for our first anniversary 35 years ago this Sunday. Its the only PB cookie recipe I've used!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made exact to recipe, EXCEPT that I didn't refrigerate first. It was pretty dry and crumbly. After pressing with the fork, I had to reshape each cookie or they would have been in pieces. The texture of the cookie was like a shortbread cookie, it crumbled in our mouths, which was nice and tasty. It only made 28 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Not the best. I read quite a few of the reviews and made the changes most all had suggested and these had very little PB taste even upping it to a cup of PB. The one cup of brown sugar was too much...that's what these taste like, I'd stick with the original sugar amounts in the recipe. I did cut the vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp. and that was perfect. Otherwise there is no PB taste - not a classic recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I followed suggestions and used butter instead of shortening, 3/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c white sugar, and 3/4 cup peanut butter instead of 1/2 c. I liked them a lot with these alterations. I rolled in sugar, but there was no need, as they were already sugary enough. I won't do that next time. Also, I will add Reese's Pieces next time as well, becaus I looooove pb and the more the better. I only gave four stars because of the alterations I made. Nice and chewy cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I've been trying different PB cookie recipes lately, and this one was alright. I liked being able to use shortening instead of butter for cost reasons, but it's not worth the difference in taste. I'll stick with the richer, butter flavored ones. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe, and if you're looking for a cost effective, just okay simple cookie recipe, this one is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
GREAT recipe! Everyone loved these! I used butter & raw sugar. I saved this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Too Mild Peanut taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
they are ok. as i was making them into balls, i noticed how dry and crumbly they looked, hence, once baked they came out a little dry. I followed recipe to a T. Taste is good, just wish they were more moist. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racingrussells5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States