Dad's Excellent Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Mouth-watering!! This is a truly excellent recipe. I added garlic and lemon juice to the melted butter and sprinkled on Old Bay before wrapping the scallops. I grilled them in a grill basket rather than bothering with toothpicks or skewers. We devoured these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I love recipes that can be prepared ahead, are quick and easy, and so good. I made these ahead, refrigerated them and threw them on the grill as an appetizer. I reduced about one cup of heavy cream, 2 Tablespoons maple syrup, and 1 heaping Tablespoon dijon mustard and served as a sauce on the side (use caution, I didn't measure, so this is a guess). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Delicious and rich. Boyfriend said they were the best scallops he ever had. I put three wrapped scallops on two skewers and served on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Very good recipe. The suggestion about the frozen scallops was great. I found them (not the same brand, but large size scallops) in my grocery store, no problem. I was tempted to use bacon instead of prosciutto, but that would not have been as good. The bacon would have over powered the scallop. Then I marinated the scallops in bottled italian salad dressing for about a half hour. I was worred about them sticking to the grill, so I put the marinated, prosciutto wrapped scallops on metal skewers and then put the skewers on a special shish kabob metal holder that lays on the top of the grill surface. This keeps the skewer off of the grill surface. I continued to baste them during the cooking time with the salad dressing. I grilled them for about 20 minutes. (the scallops were large and partially frozen) They were GREAT, very light actually. I can understand why some reviewers felt they were a little on the salty side, but that is the taste of the prosciutto. I did not feel the taste as over powering. I served them with saffron rice that I had made previously and frozen (from this site) and it was a great easy summer meal. This would also make a great company dish or last minute meal as one reviewer suggested. Thanks for the recipe and thanks for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Delicious and tasty - much more healthy than bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
The prosciutto definitely makes the recipe. The tastes blended especially well, and the texture was really good too. We decided to use garlic butter for variation, and found it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
These were FABULOUS! I purchased the Prosciutto and large scallops (size of a silver dollar) from Trader Joe's. The scallops were in the frozen foods section. This makes an elegant, quick and easy dinner for entertaining. You can keep the frozen scallops on hand in the freezer, and the Prosciutto lasts months in the refrigerator. The Prosciutto is salty, so I will baste with Olive Oil the next time I make it. I served it on a bed of pasta, with steamed asparagus on the side. My husband LOVED this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Not the best I have ever had nor made. Kind of difficult and time consuming, plus extremely salty tasting. I would not reccommend for people like me who are not big salt fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Delicious! Bacon takes way too long to cook, the prosciutto was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
These were excellent and really easy to make. Forgot to soak the toothpicks so the ends burned to a crisp on the grill but other than that, everything was perfect. I served them with horseradish sauce kind of following the idea of shrimp lejon and it was surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States