Dad's Excellent Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Delicious and tasty - much more healthy than bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Not the best I have ever had nor made. Kind of difficult and time consuming, plus extremely salty tasting. I would not reccommend for people like me who are not big salt fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
These were FABULOUS! I purchased the Prosciutto and large scallops (size of a silver dollar) from Trader Joe's. The scallops were in the frozen foods section. This makes an elegant, quick and easy dinner for entertaining. You can keep the frozen scallops on hand in the freezer, and the Prosciutto lasts months in the refrigerator. The Prosciutto is salty, so I will baste with Olive Oil the next time I make it. I served it on a bed of pasta, with steamed asparagus on the side. My husband LOVED this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
These were absolutely delicious. I normally don't care for scallops that much, but the prosciutto adds so much flavor, I couldn't stop eating them. We also used olive oil instead of buter as suggested in a prebious review. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Very good recipe. The suggestion about the frozen scallops was great. I found them (not the same brand, but large size scallops) in my grocery store, no problem. I was tempted to use bacon instead of prosciutto, but that would not have been as good. The bacon would have over powered the scallop. Then I marinated the scallops in bottled italian salad dressing for about a half hour. I was worred about them sticking to the grill, so I put the marinated, prosciutto wrapped scallops on metal skewers and then put the skewers on a special shish kabob metal holder that lays on the top of the grill surface. This keeps the skewer off of the grill surface. I continued to baste them during the cooking time with the salad dressing. I grilled them for about 20 minutes. (the scallops were large and partially frozen) They were GREAT, very light actually. I can understand why some reviewers felt they were a little on the salty side, but that is the taste of the prosciutto. I did not feel the taste as over powering. I served them with saffron rice that I had made previously and frozen (from this site) and it was a great easy summer meal. This would also make a great company dish or last minute meal as one reviewer suggested. Thanks for the recipe and thanks for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Loved it! We didn't use the butter and it still turned out great. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Simple & Tasty..baste as directed to keep prosciutto from drying out to much while grilling. We have made this several times now as a main course and as an appetizer when entertaining..thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This was good, but way too rich for me to eat as a main meal. One thing I did to save on time was to skewer the scallops as shish kabobs. I would probably make again as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Made these this summer. They were wonderful! So easy, and yet elegant enough for company. We made them according to recipe, only brushed them with plain olive oil. Used large fresh sea scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I love recipes that can be prepared ahead, are quick and easy, and so good. I made these ahead, refrigerated them and threw them on the grill as an appetizer. I reduced about one cup of heavy cream, 2 Tablespoons maple syrup, and 1 heaping Tablespoon dijon mustard and served as a sauce on the side (use caution, I didn't measure, so this is a guess). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States