Dad's Excellent Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
While it was delish, the prosciutto was a little overwhelming. Would make them again but cut back on the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjvarnadoe68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent and easy - what more could you ask for. Works well cooked on the stove top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill528

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Just as good as I knew they would be. I used bacon as we prefer its flavor over prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I loved this recipe. I have had scallops wraped in bacon before, but the prosciutto was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Unbelievably yummy!! We added garlic powder to the butter. Way better than bacon!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. However, I took another reviewer's advice to add lemon and garlic to the melted butter. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emurii
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
To preface this review, I should say that I didn't use the butter and I didn't cook these on a grill, but in a skillet. I'd been pretty excited about these, but honestly, I wasn't the biggest fan of the real thing. They came out a little too salty (and I did use extra lean prosciutto), and it was very difficult to gauge whether they were done. They oozed a little water. I'm sure this would be better on a grill...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very nice change of pace. I usually use bacon but this recipe is better. Not as fatty and I brushed a little teriyaki at the last minute. Make sure you use the Jumbo size scallops (about 1-3/4" - 2" diameter) or you need to adjust your cooking time. DO NOT overcook them and you will have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uncle fester
Home Town: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I've been looking for a good recipe for BBQ'd scallops and this is the best ever!! The prociutto makes the recipe! I brushed some melted butter with lemon and crushed garlic for flavour...we loved them. This is definitely a keeper!!! Oh and I did sprinkle the Old Bay Seasoning on them before I put them on the skewers! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Um um! Made them several hours in advance, splashed some garlic butter on them, and threw them in the fridge. Served them over a bed of Angel Hair Pasta and the guests devoured them. There was not one scallop left! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States