Dad's Escarole and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this! Only a few modifications...sauteed the garlic with the onion in olive oil, added some crushed red chilies and diced celery with leaves. Recipe doesn't specify, but it is very important (in my opinion anyway) to use product of Spain or Italy tomatoes for the best flavor. I served topped with freshly grated parm cheese and crusty bread. So simple and delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jem
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This soup was so good. The only thing I did differently was to use a 48 oz can of chicken broth instead of using the bouillon. I also followed the other suggestion of adding in celery (two ribs) and red pepper flakes. My husband definitely said this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I enjoyed this soup however I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth. It's good with or without the garlic as I have tried it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is so good. I have never made it with tomatoes before and loved it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! Made it a few times and never the same. A very adaptable recipe! From different beans, greens to even adding pasta----ALWAYS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
i am glad i found this recipe; while i used what i had on hand, this recipe was a saving grace for me. i had just made a small amount of chicken stock, added a small bunch of escarole, and after seeing this recipe, added some bruchetta that i made the other day. i left out the beans, and boy is this good!!! thanks so much for the post islandgirl17!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I put everything in my crockpot! I used a carton of vegetable broth and added 2 cups of water. I used three different types of canned beans and added a tabelspoon of dried dill to make it interesting. I did have to add a good amount of salt - since everything I used was no salt added! The only part I cooked on the stove - was I sauteed 2 red onions and 2 medium hot peppers in grapeseed oil, butter, salt, and 2 tablespoons of sugar to almost caramelize them - then added them to the crockpot. Cooked on low for 5 hours - WONDERFUL - the slight warmth from the peppers was perfect for this 23 degree night we are supposed to have! Thanks! Will use again and again - the crockpot - made this soooo easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I'm from Rhode Island. Italian food is our specialty. Add a can of blended cannellini beans at the end to thicken it. Also, we use a little pancetta with the olive oil and garlic to start. It's a different, thicker soup but sure you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Love this recipe. The only things I do differently are ..I use fire roasted tomatoes, canned chicken broth, and occasionally I add some fresh basil and thyme from my garden when able. I also put a little parmesan in the soup while cooking. Have made this really often, always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookenup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States