Dad's Escarole and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have made this twice. I do I vegan variation with veggie broth but it needs a bit more salt and seasonings like Spike. Fast and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanne
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I recently made this soup and it was delicious!!! This is my first time eating or making escarole/bean soup. I don't know how to make a recipe without "doctoring" it up, so I made a few changes because I can't help myself. I only added maybe 3/4 cup of fresh diced tomatoes because I had them on hand from making pizza. I used organic "Better than Boullion" instead of cubes because it has a deeper flavor than cubes. While sauteeing the onions and garlic, I also cubed and added a small smoked ham steak (figured it would be a good additive). It gave the soup a richer flavor - I am glad I did that. With some fresh garlic toast, it was definitely a hit in my house. I will definitely make it again - if I don't, my family may hurt me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Love this recipe. The only things I do differently are ..I use fire roasted tomatoes, canned chicken broth, and occasionally I add some fresh basil and thyme from my garden when able. I also put a little parmesan in the soup while cooking. Have made this really often, always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookenup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I'm from Rhode Island. Italian food is our specialty. Add a can of blended cannellini beans at the end to thicken it. Also, we use a little pancetta with the olive oil and garlic to start. It's a different, thicker soup but sure you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I put everything in my crockpot! I used a carton of vegetable broth and added 2 cups of water. I used three different types of canned beans and added a tabelspoon of dried dill to make it interesting. I did have to add a good amount of salt - since everything I used was no salt added! The only part I cooked on the stove - was I sauteed 2 red onions and 2 medium hot peppers in grapeseed oil, butter, salt, and 2 tablespoons of sugar to almost caramelize them - then added them to the crockpot. Cooked on low for 5 hours - WONDERFUL - the slight warmth from the peppers was perfect for this 23 degree night we are supposed to have! Thanks! Will use again and again - the crockpot - made this soooo easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
i am glad i found this recipe; while i used what i had on hand, this recipe was a saving grace for me. i had just made a small amount of chicken stock, added a small bunch of escarole, and after seeing this recipe, added some bruchetta that i made the other day. i left out the beans, and boy is this good!!! thanks so much for the post islandgirl17!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! Made it a few times and never the same. A very adaptable recipe! From different beans, greens to even adding pasta----ALWAYS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is so good. I have never made it with tomatoes before and loved it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I enjoyed this soup however I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth. It's good with or without the garlic as I have tried it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States