Dad's Double Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
yummm. just ate a few. first time with whole wheat flour for pancakes. made them now to freez later when my bf comes back tomorrow. halved the recipe, added some cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, substituted a cup of fat free milk for the water and milk powder, subed apple sauce for butter, and only added 1/4th cup sugar. the batter was pretty thick so my pancakes came out thick as well. very yummy, no syrup needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
These are great pancakes! Much, much better than a mix! I added 1 tblspn cinnamon and a 1/2 tsp nutmeg and about 1/4 cup wheat germ. My family loved them. I ate mine without syrup, just butter and a bit of powdered sugar. This recipie does make a TON of pancakes, so if you aren't cooking for a crowd, or don't want leftovers, split it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Delicious!! We love pancakes and have only been buying mixes. Now my 3 and 4 yr. olds have a more nutritious recipe and use less syrup because it has a great taste already. Also subsituted milk powder with 1 1/2 cups milk and cut the water to 3/4. Will try again with apple sauce in place of butter. Froze them for toaster reheat later. Very Good and Healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I can't have dairy right now, so left out the powdered milk and butter. I was going to sub oil, then applesause, then oil, then forgot to do either! I added artificial butter flavoring and brown sugar flavored splenda instead of the sugar. The pancakes came out a little flat, which is how my husband likes them, and nicely sweetened, which is how my kids like them! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Vig

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These are a real hit - especially with the little people. We have them every single week! I have no milk powder, so I use 1 1/2 cups milk and cut the water to 3/4 of a cup. It was perfect. If you aren't cooking for a tribe, you may want to halve the recipe, it makes a lot of pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Loved it. I love cooking with whole wheat and this was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
An excellent and nutritious breakfast! I make them in batch and freeze between wax paper sheets - easy to heat up in the toaster or microwave for a quick snack. For variety I occasionally add fresh or frozen fruit at the last second before cooking. For fluffiest pancakes, wait until just before cooking to mix dry and wet ingredients and just fold in, don't stir too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNevard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These were surprisingly excellent! I am on Weight Watchers and was looking for a healthier alternative to traditional pancakes. Using solely whole wheat flour (eliminated the all-purpose flour) gave these a nuttier flavor, but they were so light and fluffy. I substituted 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the butter and used 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. Splenda instead of sugar. I used skim milk instead of the dry milk powder and water and also added 2 tsp. flax seed and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. If the batter is too runny, it can be thickened with a little extra flour. These freeze and reheat very well for a quick and filling breakfast. Great with no-sugar maple syrup and turkey sausage links!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These are tasty for wheat pancakes. I did make a few changes... Used only 1/2 cup sugar (and this was plenty),Used 1/3 cup applesauce in place of the butter, added 2 teas vanilla and a full Tablespoon of cinnamon. When I make them again I will only use 3 eggs as the batter is a bit runny and a bit "eggy" for our tastes. All in all very yummy and with no butter-low fat. Oh and this did make almost exactly 28 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My husband has a very busy schedule and a horrible diet, but always has pancakes for breakfast (from a mix). He loved this recipe which makes enough for me to freeze a weeks worth, and it gets some whole grain fiber in his tummy! Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States