Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Monica Geoghan Pearson
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made these cookies but added some walnuts, raisins, and about 1/2 cup from a bag of (raisins, cranberries, dried apple pieces, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds) that I bought at Sam's club. They turned out scrumptious. If I had not added anything extra they would have still tasted scrumptious. This is a great recipe. I love the coconut in it too. Thanks you Tanya Anderson for the recipe. My daughter is going to love them; she is a cyclist and a runner. She is in triathlons all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I never rated any recipes before. But this one is so easy and yummy. I did reduce the white sugar to 1/4 cup. One thing i have to mention is: I made the first batch which i thought was too soft when the cookies were still warm. So i decided to put the second batch back into the turned off oven for another 40 minutes. It turned out incredible good. These "over cooked" cookies are hard, crunchy in a very good way. Plus, those ones which i thought were too soft are actually very good too when they are cold. My husband had 4 of each version. I know.....TOO MANY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Reduced sugar by 50% but still a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My cookies came out flat, but they tasted delicious. My husband loved them. I added a 1/2 tsp of baking power suggested by another reviewer to help them rise but it didn't work for me. I also added raisens to the recipe which made them very chewy and sweet. In the end I will make them again but I will probably chill the dough overnight to help the cookies rise in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy and delicious! Turned out wonderful! I also added a little more vanilla then suggested and 1/2 tsp baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have to say - this is one of my favorite oatmeal cookie recipes! I cut both sugars to 3/4 cup and used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup white flour. I also used unsweetened coconut. These were plenty sweet! My kids insisted that I add mini-chocolate chips, which I did. These were a hit in my house, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
LOVE these cookies... by coincidence, My Dad's mom was named Dorothy, too LOL. These remind me of the cookies Ikea carries. I have no idea why these taste so buttery with no butter in them, but we make them sans coconut and sometimes add chocolate chips. If they get a bit crisp they are awesome with a cup of tea. Also liked with added cinnamon. SUCH an easy recipe to change up for variety, but it is our favorite as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Troldahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. We used organic Coconut flour and when it partnered with the coconut flakes, it was DIVINE!! I added a little extra baking soda and they were chewy and rather large!! A quick and easy recipe that i'll use again and share. :) Can't wait to make more! Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Pretty new to this whole baking thing but try orange extract instead of vanilla - pretty great cookie. I also added another 1/2 cup of oatmeal (used quick oats) and liked the consitency better. Haven't tried cutting the white sugar down as suggested by others but they do seem a little sugary so I'm going to try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made these according to the directions and my family LOVED them! The cookies were easy to make and turned out perfect. They were devoured within two days and I'm making more today. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Downing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States