Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder because I read the review that said they were flat. They were delicious, pretty, and chewy. I will definitely make them again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I can't have butter, so I was happy to find this recipe. They were delicious and very simple to make. They really were done in 30 minutes! I took the advice of someone else and used 1/4 cup less sugar, and they were still plenty sweet. They are a little flat, which is not a problem, and a wonderful chewy texture. Just make sure they cool a little on the sheet before you remove. Thanks, Tanya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent cookie. Taste great. Very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe Tanya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I am a terrible cook and these turned out great!!!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is my favorite cookie recipes. I printed this one off a couple of years ago. It is my go to recipe for an easy and delicious cookie. My husband goes wild for these! I find that one can decrease the amount of oil and sugar and still have a very delicious and chewy cookie! The trick is not to overbake them and to let them cool a bit before removing from pan. I gave these out to neighbors and friends this year for Christmas. (No one knows my secret--Allrecipes.com!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsica, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Geddes, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup and these were so good!!! I also added more vanilla, cinnamon and white chocolate chips. We will definalty make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
My dad recently had heart surgery, so I was thrilled to find a cookie recipe that called for oil instead of solid fats. I used canola oil, omitted the coconut, threw in an extra handful of oats, and added some Hershey's Special Dark chips for a heart-healthy cookie that everybody really liked. Thank you for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Delicious! I am trying to avoid as much fat in my diet as possible (due to gallbladder issues) so these were perfect! I tend to find oatmeal cookies lacking something and I think I know what it is. The oats need to be toasted (I toasted very slowly in a dry non-stick pan until golden brown). I also toasted the coconut. I used 2 eggs equivalent in egg whites and subbed 1/4 c applesauce for 1/4c oil. They are very sticky and hard to roll at first but once in the fridge and cooled down they are much easier to work with. I am also freezing some dough, I will let you know how it turns out. I think I cooked them for a bit longer than called for but I like my cookies crisper. They turned out crispy on the egdges and chewy and moist in the middle. I will be making these on a regular basis. THANK YOU!! The dough froze well, I rolled the log shaped dough in parchment paper and then Saran wrap and put it in a Ziploc freezer bag. Let it defrost in the fridge and baked them sliced right off the log. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
These cookies took only ten mintues to prepare and that's a plus for a girl with an impatient sweet-tooth! These were fantastic and I will double the batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These cookies were great! I read some of the other reviews and made some changes by adding 1/2 tsp. baking powder and reducing the sugar amounts to 1/2 cup of each. I also omitted the coconut and added some cinnamon. They took an hour to make from start to finish! So easy and delicious, and are made with ingredients you probably have in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States