Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder because I read the review that said they were flat. They were delicious, pretty, and chewy. I will definitely make them again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is my favorite cookie recipes. I printed this one off a couple of years ago. It is my go to recipe for an easy and delicious cookie. My husband goes wild for these! I find that one can decrease the amount of oil and sugar and still have a very delicious and chewy cookie! The trick is not to overbake them and to let them cool a bit before removing from pan. I gave these out to neighbors and friends this year for Christmas. (No one knows my secret--Allrecipes.com!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsica, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Geddes, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a tasty recipe to mix up and cook quickly. I skipped the coconut and added 1 cup of white chocolate chips. I reduced both sugars to 3/4 c. each, and reduced the oil to 1/2 cup. After mixing, the batter seemed a bit dry, so I put in a tad more oil. Very good flavor, and the texture is great - somehow they are chewy, crispy, and soft all at the same time. The first pan I cooked a full 12 minutes; these came out kind of crunchy, but still a little chewy, and very good. The second and subsequent pans, I cooked more like 9-10 minutes (took them out just before they looked done), let them cool on the pan for 2 minutes. These were our favorites. Delicious recipe and a bit healthier using oil vs. butter. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
My dad recently had heart surgery, so I was thrilled to find a cookie recipe that called for oil instead of solid fats. I used canola oil, omitted the coconut, threw in an extra handful of oats, and added some Hershey's Special Dark chips for a heart-healthy cookie that everybody really liked. Thank you for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup and these were so good!!! I also added more vanilla, cinnamon and white chocolate chips. We will definalty make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Delicious! I am trying to avoid as much fat in my diet as possible (due to gallbladder issues) so these were perfect! I tend to find oatmeal cookies lacking something and I think I know what it is. The oats need to be toasted (I toasted very slowly in a dry non-stick pan until golden brown). I also toasted the coconut. I used 2 eggs equivalent in egg whites and subbed 1/4 c applesauce for 1/4c oil. They are very sticky and hard to roll at first but once in the fridge and cooled down they are much easier to work with. I am also freezing some dough, I will let you know how it turns out. I think I cooked them for a bit longer than called for but I like my cookies crisper. They turned out crispy on the egdges and chewy and moist in the middle. I will be making these on a regular basis. THANK YOU!! The dough froze well, I rolled the log shaped dough in parchment paper and then Saran wrap and put it in a Ziploc freezer bag. Let it defrost in the fridge and baked them sliced right off the log. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
These cookies took only ten mintues to prepare and that's a plus for a girl with an impatient sweet-tooth! These were fantastic and I will double the batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
These are wonderful, I did make a few minor alterations to the recipe, I subbed 1/2 cup of the oil with plain fat free yogurt and reduced the white sugar by 1/2 cup and tossed in a few chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
The BEST chewy cookie! And a snap to make. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This cookie recipe is really, really good. It was moist and VERY chewy--and chewy is good :o). Only thing is that personally, I thought it was too sweet. I even cut the white sugar to 3/4 cup and omitted the coconut---BUT---take it into account that I am a 'salty' muncher--not sweet. Very good oatmeal flavor---it is a keeper! Thanx for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Locke, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States