Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
oooooooh yum!!! So chewy, so flavourful, and hubby and the kids love them too. They are quite sweet so I would maybe cut down on the white sugar - but not the brown as that is what gives this cookie its chewiness. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These came out all right. I tried replacing the oil w/ apple sauce and baking soda with baking powder (I was out) and they just tasted too cakey. Oh well, next time I won't mess with the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
These are wonderful, I did make a few minor alterations to the recipe, I subbed 1/2 cup of the oil with plain fat free yogurt and reduced the white sugar by 1/2 cup and tossed in a few chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Delicious and rich tasting cookies! I picked these because they use oil (I used canola). Used half white and half whole-wheat pastry flour, and sea salt (it tastes better). Added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. I used the electric mixer and dropped spoonfuls onto the cookie sheets. Mine spread out a lot while baking. They disappeared quickly! We loved em! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
oh my lord this is a new favorite! i took some advice, added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. instead of 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white, i substituted 1/2 cup brown and 1/4 cup baking splenda. i added some ginger, cinnamon, ground cloves, allspice, nutmeg. the coconut was a nice touch! next time i think ill add more oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These are VERY good!! This recipe would I am sure be fabulous as is, however I made a few changes to the recipe due to food allergies, and my taste. First, I substituted 2tbsp cornstarch + 4 tbsp water for the 2 eggs. Second cut both types of sugar in half. I doubled the amount of coconut, and added about 1/4 cup of some allergy free/vegan chocolate chips. I was also feeling lazy so dumped the batter into a greased 9x13 pan and baked for about 20min. They were heavenly!!! Chewy, Thick and rose beautifully. Three days later, still chewy and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
First of all, listen to the recipe and form the dough into WALNUT sized balls! I used my traditional tablespoon sized cookies and they spread like crazy and ran together. Not a huge problem, but now I have giant cookies. Good thing they're so tasty - I don't think anyone will mind eating a huge one! I made these with dried cranberries. Next time I'll add a little cinnamon or cardamom - but they are great as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I knew these were going to be good when I tasted the cookie dough!!! I used canola oil instead of veg. oil and 1/2 cup raisins instead of coconut. Absolutely FABULOUS!!! The best recipe I've tried so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb909
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
5 stars with alterations. I tried this with the recommended extra 1/2 t of baking powder and cut the sugar to 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/4 c white sugar, but I think they would be better without the extra baking powder and 1/2 c of both sugars. I also added chopped almonds and dried fruit - dried apricot pieces work really well with this recipe. Baking for 11 minutes turned out about right. Everyone at work loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was running low on butter, so I didn't want to use any. These were really good! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States