Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
oh my lord this is a new favorite! i took some advice, added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. instead of 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white, i substituted 1/2 cup brown and 1/4 cup baking splenda. i added some ginger, cinnamon, ground cloves, allspice, nutmeg. the coconut was a nice touch! next time i think ill add more oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These are VERY good!! This recipe would I am sure be fabulous as is, however I made a few changes to the recipe due to food allergies, and my taste. First, I substituted 2tbsp cornstarch + 4 tbsp water for the 2 eggs. Second cut both types of sugar in half. I doubled the amount of coconut, and added about 1/4 cup of some allergy free/vegan chocolate chips. I was also feeling lazy so dumped the batter into a greased 9x13 pan and baked for about 20min. They were heavenly!!! Chewy, Thick and rose beautifully. Three days later, still chewy and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
First of all, listen to the recipe and form the dough into WALNUT sized balls! I used my traditional tablespoon sized cookies and they spread like crazy and ran together. Not a huge problem, but now I have giant cookies. Good thing they're so tasty - I don't think anyone will mind eating a huge one! I made these with dried cranberries. Next time I'll add a little cinnamon or cardamom - but they are great as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I knew these were going to be good when I tasted the cookie dough!!! I used canola oil instead of veg. oil and 1/2 cup raisins instead of coconut. Absolutely FABULOUS!!! The best recipe I've tried so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb909
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
5 stars with alterations. I tried this with the recommended extra 1/2 t of baking powder and cut the sugar to 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/4 c white sugar, but I think they would be better without the extra baking powder and 1/2 c of both sugars. I also added chopped almonds and dried fruit - dried apricot pieces work really well with this recipe. Baking for 11 minutes turned out about right. Everyone at work loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was running low on butter, so I didn't want to use any. These were really good! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Delicious! I am trying to avoid as much fat in my diet as possible (due to gallbladder issues) so these were perfect! I tend to find oatmeal cookies lacking something and I think I know what it is. The oats need to be toasted (I toasted very slowly in a dry non-stick pan until golden brown). I also toasted the coconut. I used 2 eggs equivalent in egg whites and subbed 1/4 c applesauce for 1/4c oil. They are very sticky and hard to roll at first but once in the fridge and cooled down they are much easier to work with. I am also freezing some dough, I will let you know how it turns out. I think I cooked them for a bit longer than called for but I like my cookies crisper. They turned out crispy on the egdges and chewy and moist in the middle. I will be making these on a regular basis. THANK YOU!! The dough froze well, I rolled the log shaped dough in parchment paper and then Saran wrap and put it in a Ziploc freezer bag. Let it defrost in the fridge and baked them sliced right off the log. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These cookies were great! I read some of the other reviews and made some changes by adding 1/2 tsp. baking powder and reducing the sugar amounts to 1/2 cup of each. I also omitted the coconut and added some cinnamon. They took an hour to make from start to finish! So easy and delicious, and are made with ingredients you probably have in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
My dad recently had heart surgery, so I was thrilled to find a cookie recipe that called for oil instead of solid fats. I used canola oil, omitted the coconut, threw in an extra handful of oats, and added some Hershey's Special Dark chips for a heart-healthy cookie that everybody really liked. Thank you for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is my favorite cookie recipes. I printed this one off a couple of years ago. It is my go to recipe for an easy and delicious cookie. My husband goes wild for these! I find that one can decrease the amount of oil and sugar and still have a very delicious and chewy cookie! The trick is not to overbake them and to let them cool a bit before removing from pan. I gave these out to neighbors and friends this year for Christmas. (No one knows my secret--Allrecipes.com!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsica, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Geddes, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States