Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Deb909
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
5 stars with alterations. I tried this with the recommended extra 1/2 t of baking powder and cut the sugar to 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/4 c white sugar, but I think they would be better without the extra baking powder and 1/2 c of both sugars. I also added chopped almonds and dried fruit - dried apricot pieces work really well with this recipe. Baking for 11 minutes turned out about right. Everyone at work loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was running low on butter, so I didn't want to use any. These were really good! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Delicious! I am trying to avoid as much fat in my diet as possible (due to gallbladder issues) so these were perfect! I tend to find oatmeal cookies lacking something and I think I know what it is. The oats need to be toasted (I toasted very slowly in a dry non-stick pan until golden brown). I also toasted the coconut. I used 2 eggs equivalent in egg whites and subbed 1/4 c applesauce for 1/4c oil. They are very sticky and hard to roll at first but once in the fridge and cooled down they are much easier to work with. I am also freezing some dough, I will let you know how it turns out. I think I cooked them for a bit longer than called for but I like my cookies crisper. They turned out crispy on the egdges and chewy and moist in the middle. I will be making these on a regular basis. THANK YOU!! The dough froze well, I rolled the log shaped dough in parchment paper and then Saran wrap and put it in a Ziploc freezer bag. Let it defrost in the fridge and baked them sliced right off the log. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These cookies were great! I read some of the other reviews and made some changes by adding 1/2 tsp. baking powder and reducing the sugar amounts to 1/2 cup of each. I also omitted the coconut and added some cinnamon. They took an hour to make from start to finish! So easy and delicious, and are made with ingredients you probably have in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
My dad recently had heart surgery, so I was thrilled to find a cookie recipe that called for oil instead of solid fats. I used canola oil, omitted the coconut, threw in an extra handful of oats, and added some Hershey's Special Dark chips for a heart-healthy cookie that everybody really liked. Thank you for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is my favorite cookie recipes. I printed this one off a couple of years ago. It is my go to recipe for an easy and delicious cookie. My husband goes wild for these! I find that one can decrease the amount of oil and sugar and still have a very delicious and chewy cookie! The trick is not to overbake them and to let them cool a bit before removing from pan. I gave these out to neighbors and friends this year for Christmas. (No one knows my secret--Allrecipes.com!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsica, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Geddes, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I am a terrible cook and these turned out great!!!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
So chewy and flavorful! I decreased the sugar as well, but they were still a little to sweet for me. Next time I might try 1/2c each. Overall, though, wonderful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup and these were so good!!! I also added more vanilla, cinnamon and white chocolate chips. We will definalty make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I did not want to use oil so I excanged it for vegitable shortning, and I did not have or want to use coconut flakes so I used choclate chips. and I read about the flat cookies so I put in some baking powder aswell. So basically I changed the Recipe to this: 3/4 cup shortning 1 cup white sugar 1 cup golden sugar(i did not have brown) 2 eggs 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla 1 1/2 cup flour 1 1/2 cup quick oats 1 cup small unsweetened chocolate chips. in oven for.. 12 minutes. let rest before transfering ot cooling rack. they brown but if you don't leave them in long enough they are not cooked. and yes they are SWEET! I am not sure if I will make this recipe again. I will see how it goes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States