Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made these cookies about a week ago for my history class, and they were gone almost instantly! i followed the recipe exactly, and added some chopped walnuts and chocolate chips as well. I'll definitely make this cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Okay, so some people may scoff at my customization, but I realized too late that I didn't have any rolled oats. So, I used two packets of Apple Cinnamon instant oatmeal. I also nixed the coconut, but let me tell you- the cookies are delicious. I probably should've used one more packet of oatmeal, though. Mainly because it seemed to really flatten the cookies out. Still, it worked out well. The cookies are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe was sooooooo awesome. Wouldn't change a thing. Facebooked it to all my friends! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3 little Greek girls' mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
First, I have impossible standards. These cookies did turn out flat, but so much the better. They were nice and crisp on the edges, but soft and chewy in the middle. I made them a tad larger than the recipe called for and ended up with a dozen monster oatmeal cookies. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
oooooooh yum!!! So chewy, so flavourful, and hubby and the kids love them too. They are quite sweet so I would maybe cut down on the white sugar - but not the brown as that is what gives this cookie its chewiness. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These came out all right. I tried replacing the oil w/ apple sauce and baking soda with baking powder (I was out) and they just tasted too cakey. Oh well, next time I won't mess with the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
These are wonderful, I did make a few minor alterations to the recipe, I subbed 1/2 cup of the oil with plain fat free yogurt and reduced the white sugar by 1/2 cup and tossed in a few chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Delicious and rich tasting cookies! I picked these because they use oil (I used canola). Used half white and half whole-wheat pastry flour, and sea salt (it tastes better). Added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. I used the electric mixer and dropped spoonfuls onto the cookie sheets. Mine spread out a lot while baking. They disappeared quickly! We loved em! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
oh my lord this is a new favorite! i took some advice, added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. instead of 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white, i substituted 1/2 cup brown and 1/4 cup baking splenda. i added some ginger, cinnamon, ground cloves, allspice, nutmeg. the coconut was a nice touch! next time i think ill add more oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These are VERY good!! This recipe would I am sure be fabulous as is, however I made a few changes to the recipe due to food allergies, and my taste. First, I substituted 2tbsp cornstarch + 4 tbsp water for the 2 eggs. Second cut both types of sugar in half. I doubled the amount of coconut, and added about 1/4 cup of some allergy free/vegan chocolate chips. I was also feeling lazy so dumped the batter into a greased 9x13 pan and baked for about 20min. They were heavenly!!! Chewy, Thick and rose beautifully. Three days later, still chewy and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States