Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made these when we were moving to use up the oil I had. I tried to add chocolate chips, but they didn't want to mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
My husband baked these after changing the recipe to include butter instead of the oil because he likes the flavor butter adds to baking. He used fresh grated coconut rather than the flaked coconut, and added chopped walnuts. The cookies did spread out quite a bit, but despite their being sort of thin, they are chewy, besides being super delicious! These are now my favorite home made cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JavaGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These were great! The batter seemed greasy but once baked they were delicious! I did transfer them to paper towels to cool before plating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Excellent and easy!! I don't like the taste of butter, so was thrilled to find a recipe using oil. I omitted the coconut, as I didn't have any. Instead I used raisins and nuts. I also added some cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are amazing cookies. My husband, who hates oatmeal cookies, asks me to make these all the time. They never last very long at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a tasty recipe to mix up and cook quickly. I skipped the coconut and added 1 cup of white chocolate chips. I reduced both sugars to 3/4 c. each, and reduced the oil to 1/2 cup. After mixing, the batter seemed a bit dry, so I put in a tad more oil. Very good flavor, and the texture is great - somehow they are chewy, crispy, and soft all at the same time. The first pan I cooked a full 12 minutes; these came out kind of crunchy, but still a little chewy, and very good. The second and subsequent pans, I cooked more like 9-10 minutes (took them out just before they looked done), let them cool on the pan for 2 minutes. These were our favorites. Delicious recipe and a bit healthier using oil vs. butter. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These cookies were pretty good; I mixed them using a wooden spoon instead of a mixer and used 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 1/2 cup white granulated sugar. I am not sure if it was just from using a different amount of sugars but the cookies were awfully sweet! Not a complaint, more of a surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I really liked these, they work well on their own or asa base to add what you want. A word of caution though... I made these for my boyfriend as a protein/carb booster during a big bike race, and they really messed his stomach up. Combination of oats, sugars and fats can cause, well, gas. So watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These were great, just like Mom used to make! I can't wait to enjoy them with my son now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made these cookies about a week ago for my history class, and they were gone almost instantly! i followed the recipe exactly, and added some chopped walnuts and chocolate chips as well. I'll definitely make this cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States