Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I am SO glad that I reduced the sugar, as others suggested!!! I used 1c brown sugar and 1/4c white sugar--next time, I'll just leave out the white sugar entirely. I'll also reduce the oil to 1/2c and add 1/2c unsweetened applesauce & see how that works. I added 2t cinnamon, next time it'll be a full tablespoon--plus 3/4c raisins, but no coconut on hand. Thanks to a review, I toasted the oatmeal first and I really do think that enhanced the flavor. I also added juice from 1/2 lemon, in order to activate that baking soda a bit more, and it worked! They did NOT flatten all that much. In my oven, 11 minutes gave me cookies that are crispy around the edges and chewy in the middle--I like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I use 1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder as I do not like the taste of baking soda and it turns out great. I add slightly more flower (1/8 of a cup extra) and use 2 cups of oats and just slightly less oil than 3/4 cup. And around 3/4 cup of each sugar. I haven't tried them with the coconut. I have made them with dried cranberries and with chocolate chips and both are marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I just made these for the first time. They are soooo good. Made them exactly as is and wished I had doubled the recipe. Mine looked perfectly round and flat because I rolled into a ball and flattened with a fork slightly like it says to. It's supposed to look like that. It's good for stacking and taking to a party. Don't keep it in the oven until it looks done. Take it out as soon as you see it slightly browned. It will cook more on the pan. Yummy chewy cookies. I might lessen the oil next time just because the cookies feel oily when you handle them. But this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great recipe, with some changes. I add a tsp. of cinnamon, because I love spices in my oatmeal cookies, and I add 1/2 tsp. baking powder to keep them from flattening too much. I usually don't have coconut on hand, so I either add a little extra oats, or today I substituted raisins for the coconut. My 10 yo daughter made this recipe today by herself, it's so easy, and always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
These were a breeze to make and turned out well…but a tad on the "too sweet" side. Next time I'll cut down on the white sugar and maybe toss in some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I love these cookies. They are my favorite oatmeal cookies and I eat nearly the entire batch every time I make them. (oops!) After reading other reviews I only use 1/2 cup each for the sugars, and I never have coconut, so that's left out. I decrease the oil to just a little more than half a cup because of the missing ingredients. And in my latest batch I tried adding 2 tablespoons cocoa powder and they are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I just made these and they are amazing. I left the coconut out since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These are pretty good, not great in our opinion but better than they look. I was curious about this recipe, I never made one with oil before and I know oil is better than butter & shortening for cholesterol but I just don't know, I think I'd prefer other types of cookies instead. I did add 1/2c choc chips so my boys will eat them too lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a very good base recipe! Instead of the oats and coconut, I added cereal and chocolate chips. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I only made these because I had no butter handy, and the hubby and I had a sweets craving. I tweaked it a bit by adding cinnamon and raisins. I was very surprised at how much these cookies spread, so I suggest rolling them half the size of a walnut. They worked well for out sweet tooth, but I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States