Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a very good base recipe! Instead of the oats and coconut, I added cereal and chocolate chips. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I only made these because I had no butter handy, and the hubby and I had a sweets craving. I tweaked it a bit by adding cinnamon and raisins. I was very surprised at how much these cookies spread, so I suggest rolling them half the size of a walnut. They worked well for out sweet tooth, but I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Ok well they didn't rise like the pic I see but I made a few changes so that could be why. Ran out of oatmeal and only had 1/2 cup so replaced the rest with buckwheat flour (what I had on hand). Subbed the white sugar with 1/3 cup of honey. Used shredded instead of flaked coconut. And I have kids - gotta add choco chips! Oh and since I love cinnamon, I added maybe 1 tsp of that. They took a bit longer to bake, were too soft while warm to eat, but once they cooled, amazing taste! I wish I could customize this one but I'm not a paying member so there goes that idea. :) Great recipe though, I am sure even without all my subs the original would be just as amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Good cookie. Instead of 3/4 tsp salt added 1tsp salt. Added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, omitted coconut, added 1/2 cup chocolate chips (had difficulty mixing in, but baked in quite nicely)Bakes into a beautiful round cookie, chewy on the inside, crisp on the outside. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I totally screwed up when I was making these by adding 1 1/2 cups coconut instead of 1/2 cup, but they still turned out!!! Love the fact that you make these all in one bowl too. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JSwanlund
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Best Cookie ever! Everyone loves these cookies when they come over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The dough seems very oily and I will try cutting back to 2/3 cup next time. I followed the suggestion of previous reviews and toasted the oats and coconut. I make some with and some with out chocolate chips. Both are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I wasn't blown away, but it was good. The only thing I did was adding the 1/2 tsp. baking powder so it would stand up a little more as others mentioned, and cut the sugars in half. It was plenty sweet. Raisins are a good addition. The batter will be quite oily but the cookies will turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I tried this recipe today and I loved it. I did not use brown sugar or salt and I used baking powder instead but it turned out great. Everyone loved it. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Perfect with raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States