Dad's Cheesy Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I've found this is a great idea for picky men... men love anything wrapped in cheese and bacon! I did these in large muffin tins (it made six little muffins) because it cooks faster, serves more neatly, and is easier to wrap the bacon! I also added about a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce to keep it moist, and because it is such a good flavor with the beef. Next time i would use a few less bread crumbs, because the flavor of the bread crumbs was a bit overpowering. AWESOME recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
There are over 200 meatloaf recipes on this site. I have tried many, but this is by far my families favorite. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe as close as I could with the ingredients I had on hand. I was low on bread crumbs so I used half crushed Ritz crackers. I doubled all the spices and also added 4 cloves fresh minced garlic. To make the meatloaf wrapping a little easier, I just stuffed the inside with cheese (pre-sliced cheddar--about six slices) and then formed the rest of the loaf around it. I've baked meatloaf with cheese on top and when I go to drain the grease off, I'd lose the top cheese in with the grease which is a total bummer. It helped that I kind of piled half of the meat mixture in a really big loaf pan, layered the cheese, then piled the rest of the meat mixture on top. I just turned the pan over to dislodge the loaf, then wrapped it with bacon. This really did need the extra spices for us, but that was a personal choice. Next time, I'd like to try this with hickory BBQ sauce. My boys really liked this, especially my oldest. He's like his mom, really loves the bacon. My husband was thrilled because I used real thick sliced bacon and not turkey bacon. ;) NOTE: It might help if you form the meatloaf a couple hours before you have to bake it so it has time to hang so it really stays a "loaf" shape and not a meat blob on your plate. I learned that after years of meat blobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I loved the idea of the recipe. The first time, I wasn't thrilled with the outcome. The second time, I chopped the raw bacon and mixed it into the raw ground beef, and cut the cheese into large cubes (maybe 1/2 inch) and mixed those in. I cooked as directed, sprinkled some cheese on top at the end, and it was great. The bacon flavor permeated the meat, rather that just sitting on top, and there were little bursts of cheese throughout the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
It's best to just make meatloaf the way YOU like it..and then add the concept of bacon and cheese. I think I would have liked it more if I had made how I normally do and then added the cheese and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Wonderful. Cook as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Not the healthiest meal, but it is well worth it to have this as an occasional treat. SOOOOOO yummy! I made it for my bacon-loving stepson for his birthday (along with bacon-cheddar mashed potatoes for a bacon-themed meal, he was in heaven!) and it was a big hit with all. I made it exactly as listed, as it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow! What a hit! The men loved this because it was wrapped in cheese and bacon, and the kids loved it because it's not your "traditional" meatloaf. It didn't last but maybe 10 minutes! The only thing I did differently was I used Italian style bread crumbs, and they seemed to work really well with the spices that were used. I also added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Both gave it a little extra punch. The meatloaf is greasy, so I wouldn't suggest making it in a loaf pan, a jelly roll works much better. I served it with home made mac and cheese, for a deliciously cheesy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I thought this would be a lot better than it was. It lacked flavor and was a bit greasy. I don't think I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States