Dad's Cheesy Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Leave out the salt and substitute barbecue sauce for the ketchup. Instead of just 1 tbsp of ketchup over the loaf try 3 tbsp of bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is so good. I made it exactly to the recipe and everyone in my family enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Wajda Karcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I have been making meatloaf like this for years. However I cook the bacon first and crumble it right into the meatloaf. I also just add shredded cheddar rather than cubed. My family and friends always rave about how good it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinCath
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
CookinCath
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skyvsus
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was looking for something other than my usual meatloaf and thank goodness I came across this recipe! It was ABSOLUTELY delicious! I only needed half the recipe because it was just 3 of us ... The only thing I changed was I used 5 slices of bacon to cover while loaf instead of 3 and I used slices of American cheese instead of cheddar bc that is what I had on hand !! It stayed together perfectly and and was still moist! I will definetly make this recipe from now on! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Fabulous! My whole family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Wow! I did this recipe exactly as you read it, didnt change anything, it was absolutely delish! My husband just loved it. Hats off to your dad's meatloaf, definitely keeping this recipe around. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I give this recipe high marks for it's great flavor and relative ease to make. I do have a few substitutions I made however. I use fresh basil, oregano, and finely minced fresh garlic. One other substitution is Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce instead of ketchup it seems to add a certain zest that I prefer. I use the fresh vs powder because I grow these herbs. I also add two extra strips of bacon across the top and weave them into the slices coming up and around the meatloaf. (I like bacon) :) PS: In order to not have it be greasy use one of the new meatloaf pans with a rack so you can lift it out easily plus it can be raised slightly to allow the bacon grease to drip to the bottom of the pan away from the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nearcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I just made a meatloaf, its in the oven. Wish I would have seen this recipe with the cheese.....looks amazing! I make a bacon wrapped meatloaf but have never thought of cheese....will try next time! I think a good trick I learned for meatloaf is regrind the meat, it is so much better I think. I like to use lamb and sausage in addition to beef. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States