Dad's Bolognese Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I searched for the perfect recipe for some time and this is definetly it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe is really easy to put together and great for family gatherings (one pot of sauce for all!). The lemon zest adds a little zing to the bolognese sauce and the cream just makes it so yummy (I put in two tablespoons of cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
WOW!!!! That was simple, flavorful, and one of the best homemade bolognese sauces I've ever come across! Many thanks for that recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I have been looking for a quick and delicious Bolognese sauce and this is definately it. I could have ate the whole pot myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is a family favorite. It is simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Love this sauce!!! Easy to play around with but turns out great every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I stumbled upon it when googling a generic search for "bolognese recipe". It's unique and delicious, and a little Greek inspired I think. I too take down the nutmeg quotient just a bit, but all in all, a delish dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a great tasting sauce, although I find its missing tomato paste, I put 2 big cans of tomato paste and added about two tablespoons of Romano and Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It turned out really great with several modifications. You certainly don't have to make it this way; I just really preferred it. I used 8 carrots, a total of 9 oz of tomato paste, 1 medium to large sized white onion, 0.8 lbs of ham, and 2 lbs of ground buffalo. Also as recommended in other reviews I used 1-1/2 tbs of dried basil and a dash or two of nutmeg. I sliced the onions, carrots and ham and sauteed them in the butter until the carrots were soft. I then added the broth, tomato paste, lemon, spices. I browned the ground buffalo in a separate pan. I then took all the contents in the carrot/onion/ham pan and blended them in the blender. I put the blended contents back into the pan and added the ground meat with its juices. I prefer the only texture to be the ground meat and everything else to be a puree. At the very end I added about 2 tbs of cream. I'm not a big fan of heavy tomato based sauces as the tomatoes are too acidic for me and give me reflux. So this was an excellent alternative. If you do like more tomato flavor, you can always increase the tomato paste even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I just used a dash or two of nutmeg, I find any more will be over powering. I also added in some diced celery hearts and fresh chopped garlic, and used 7 baby carrots...I topped it with shaved Parmesan Reggiano cheese. OMG it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States