Dad's Bolognese Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
When I did the recipe I didn't really think about the ratio of nutmeg to basil in the ingedients. But the first bite I took I thought to myself. "Uhhhh, Christmas Bolognese?" I think that it should be 1 1/2 tsp of dried basil and a pinch of nutmeg. I would also suggest using a cheese grater to shred the carrot. Also the recipe needs to be more specific about what type of ham you should use. It says slices so I guess bacon maybe? No, I wouldn't use american bacon for a classic italian pasta sauce. I would used thinly sliced cured italian ham, more commonly referred to as prosciutto. I give only two stars because they need to tweak the proportions of the recipe and be more specific as to how much and what kind of ham to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I have been looking for a quick and delicious Bolognese sauce and this is definately it. I could have ate the whole pot myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
My family didn't care for the nutmeg flavor. Too many carrots. Wasn't that good...will try again w/ fewer carrots and no nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
You might as well simply chop up some carrots, boil some pasta, then throw the carrots on top. This recipe should be called Dad's Carrot Meat Sauce. Yep, doublecheck those ingredients, and then do a double take: There are SEVEN carrots in this recipe. Four big thumbs-down from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
WOW!!!! That was simple, flavorful, and one of the best homemade bolognese sauces I've ever come across! Many thanks for that recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe is really easy to put together and great for family gatherings (one pot of sauce for all!). The lemon zest adds a little zing to the bolognese sauce and the cream just makes it so yummy (I put in two tablespoons of cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I searched for the perfect recipe for some time and this is definetly it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My husband, toddler, and I loved this sauce. It cooks up quickly and is delicious. I grated the carrots (we don't currently have a processor and it's easier for my young toddler to handle) and used 1 1/2 tsp basil and a pinch of nutmeg instead of what the recipe called for. I thought it wouldn't be 'tomato-y' enough (because of just the tomato paste), but it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Love this sauce!!! Easy to play around with but turns out great every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States