Dad's Bolognese Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I just used a dash or two of nutmeg, I find any more will be over powering. I also added in some diced celery hearts and fresh chopped garlic, and used 7 baby carrots...I topped it with shaved Parmesan Reggiano cheese. OMG it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It turned out really great with several modifications. You certainly don't have to make it this way; I just really preferred it. I used 8 carrots, a total of 9 oz of tomato paste, 1 medium to large sized white onion, 0.8 lbs of ham, and 2 lbs of ground buffalo. Also as recommended in other reviews I used 1-1/2 tbs of dried basil and a dash or two of nutmeg. I sliced the onions, carrots and ham and sauteed them in the butter until the carrots were soft. I then added the broth, tomato paste, lemon, spices. I browned the ground buffalo in a separate pan. I then took all the contents in the carrot/onion/ham pan and blended them in the blender. I put the blended contents back into the pan and added the ground meat with its juices. I prefer the only texture to be the ground meat and everything else to be a puree. At the very end I added about 2 tbs of cream. I'm not a big fan of heavy tomato based sauces as the tomatoes are too acidic for me and give me reflux. So this was an excellent alternative. If you do like more tomato flavor, you can always increase the tomato paste even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I stumbled upon it when googling a generic search for "bolognese recipe". It's unique and delicious, and a little Greek inspired I think. I too take down the nutmeg quotient just a bit, but all in all, a delish dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a great tasting sauce, although I find its missing tomato paste, I put 2 big cans of tomato paste and added about two tablespoons of Romano and Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Love this sauce!!! Easy to play around with but turns out great every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My husband, toddler, and I loved this sauce. It cooks up quickly and is delicious. I grated the carrots (we don't currently have a processor and it's easier for my young toddler to handle) and used 1 1/2 tsp basil and a pinch of nutmeg instead of what the recipe called for. I thought it wouldn't be 'tomato-y' enough (because of just the tomato paste), but it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
My family didn't care for the nutmeg flavor. Too many carrots. Wasn't that good...will try again w/ fewer carrots and no nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is a family favorite. It is simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
When I did the recipe I didn't really think about the ratio of nutmeg to basil in the ingedients. But the first bite I took I thought to myself. "Uhhhh, Christmas Bolognese?" I think that it should be 1 1/2 tsp of dried basil and a pinch of nutmeg. I would also suggest using a cheese grater to shred the carrot. Also the recipe needs to be more specific about what type of ham you should use. It says slices so I guess bacon maybe? No, I wouldn't use american bacon for a classic italian pasta sauce. I would used thinly sliced cured italian ham, more commonly referred to as prosciutto. I give only two stars because they need to tweak the proportions of the recipe and be more specific as to how much and what kind of ham to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States