Dad's BBQ Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Seems like any good rub will do. Made mine with garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, Cajun seasoning. I also increased the garlic to 4 cloves. Came out moist, and pink inside and beautifully brown outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This didnt look all that great but it tasted surprizingly GOOD.my son is a chef and he sad it was delicious.I didnt add the whole package of onion soup mix.cutting back salt.Other wise it was perfect and I had a 10lb roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this tonight - on Father's day and we loved it! Thanks to your DAD for sharing the recipe with you and to YOU for sharing it with us! I used half grainy mustard and half yellow mustard and added some garlic. Easy Peasy on the BBQ...and really moist. I will definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This recipe rocks. I used 1 cup of honey dijon mustard and 1/3 cup of bbq sauce. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Oh My God! So let me state up front that I am a single father with 4 kiddos (YES, we do exist!), and a $12.00 an hour slug ( No child support, thank you Texas.). At any rate, the day before shopping day (read-payday) I was going through the fridge trying to come up with dinner. I found a roast, and a few other sundries, so I get on the pooter and I find this. My changes were, not enough mustard so I added enough teriyaki marinade and cheap-o-depot bbq sauce about a half a cup combined between the two) to come up with the required liquids,add a few potatoes and onions to it before I wrapped up the foil and headed out to a mesquite tree fired grill.Hey, I live in Texas. You can't swing a dead cat without hitting a dead mesquite tree. So anyway, I wish I could tell you about the leftover sandwiches, but there was nothing left over. the kids ate it ALL!. I will definitely make this again. ... and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I prepared this as written and am so upset with the results. Wasted a $12 roast. It's meat cooked in mustard and that's exactly what it tasted like. Hubby ate it slathered in ketchup but the kids wouldn't touch it. Had to make them something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I liked the basic idea but I added to it and it turned out absolutely delicious. I added a tablespoon of horseradish, sugar and water and I used grainy mustard. I also chopped up a whole head of garlic and added it to the marinade. You could smell it cooking down the block! Time was less than 2 hours though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and one tablespoon of water to the mixture. I used 3 different mustards instead on just one. I only used 3/4cup of mustard and I also seared my roast on a hot BBQ prior to coating and wrapping. We thought it was really good, the sauce turned out the perfect consistency. I will make this again. I have frozen the leftovers with the sauce and they were excellent later on too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Easy to make and tastes great. It was the first time I attempted a roast on the BBQ and it won't be the last time I make it this way again. And as staded the left overs are great for sandwiches I personally use Dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
The roast was okay. It was just too much mustard. And you're right - it's not much on presentation! My family didn't say anything about it - not a good sign in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States