Daddy's Whisker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup. The dill flavor kind of creeps up on you, not overwhelming in the least. I did double this recipe as I am feeding a dozen people every night. This soup did not thicken up for me though. Not sure why. I thought about attempting to thicken it in a variety of ways (ie: Potato flakes, flour, cornstarch) not sure how it would have affected the taste though. So I opted to keep this recipe as it was this time. Next time I will try on of the thickening agents and see how that comes out. Very delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Followed the recipe as written. Excellent potato soup. I thought the dill would overpower this, but it didn't, I added a little at a time just in case. I didn't read the reviews until I had already made this, so the whole tablespoon of pepper went in, then I thought it needed some more, so I added another 1/4 tsp or so, it was definitely peppery, which is fine, we like pepper. No extra pepper next time. Used the velveeta and it didn't overpower the soup as you might think. All in all, a nicely balanced creamy potato soup. Easy to make, no flour, no cream, no broth, not a lot of expense. I served with a nice asiago cheese bread, it was marvelous. Thanks Junebug's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
We absolutely LOVED this soup! I used fat free milk cause that's all I buy. I used 1 pound of Velveeta then added about 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar and near 1 cup of shredded pepper jack. It was a little on the thin side, so I dissolved about 1- 1/2 tbsp. corn starch into a little cold water and stirred that it. When it came to a boil it was perfect consistancy. We really loved the bite that the pepper jack gave to this soup. I know I will be making this very often! Thank You Junbug's Mom for such a rich and delicious recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I put too much milk so I added some instant potatoes to thicken, a bit of garlic powder and my husband requested some bacon bits to put on top. I didn't have any dill, but if I missed anything, I sure didn't taste it! First cold day after Summer and yummy hot soup for dinner. I'll make this again and pass it along as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe! I thought everything was spot on and I loved it!!! Super easy and cheap and perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This soup was great! When my very picky family first saw it, they turned their noses up. I told everyone that they had to at least try it, and every single one ended up loving this soup! My potatoes were very large, so I used 9 instead of 12. I also used only 4 cups of milk...I saved the potato liquid and used a cup of that in place of the last cup of milk. I hated to see that flavorful water go to waste, and the soup was very rich, creamy, and yummy without the last cup of milk! This recipe is just what I wanted, cheap, easy, family friendly, and yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Loved this soup! Made it almost as written, except I used real sharp cheddar cheese & let the milk heat up before adding the grated cheese a handful at a time. I also did not peel the potatoes, because the peel provides fiber & extra nutrients. I decided to toss 1+ tablespoons of flour into the cheese to ensure it didn't clump up - that may not have been necessary because the potatoes do provide a starchy liquid, & because the soup thickened up when I'd put in only about 2/3 lb. of cheese - very thick! Of course it tasted delicious, but I did wind up adding more milk to my desired consistency, & even a little more when I reheated some later. A tad more dill is nice also. Wonderful soup - I will make this again! (I did taste it all along & it was great before & after the changes to milk & dill quantities.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This one totally grew on me as I ate it. It seemed way too simple and different than anything I'd made before so I didn't have too high of expectations, but it was very delicious! I cut this down to a 3 serving size and followed the recipe as written. I used nonfat milk and 2% velveeta. I did add quite a bit more s&p when tasting, and thought it could definitely use more dill (I didn't even really taste it at all). The simple veggies with the perfect cheese flavor was very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was delicious! Made it last night and every kid - and hubby - said, "Good soup!" (and I make a LOT of soup) Creamy, delicious and very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
What can I say that hasn’t been said? This is a great recipe, with great taste and texture. M’Lady actually thought that I had added cream to the dish! This will definitely be made again and again in this household. We are eager to try this with other cheeses, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States