Daddy's Whisker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I submitted this recipe and wanted to note that I actually boil the potatoes in 2 Tablespoons of salt and 1 Teaspoon of pepper. I also use 1 teaspoon of dill...or maybe a heaping teaspoon of dill and about 3/4 of a 32 oz. block of Velveeta cheese because I like the soup pretty cheesy. I have tried adding other vegetables, etc. but for some reason, I think it is the tastiest as is. I hope you enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
What can I say that hasn’t been said? This is a great recipe, with great taste and texture. M’Lady actually thought that I had added cream to the dish! This will definitely be made again and again in this household. We are eager to try this with other cheeses, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
It's Sunday--my weekly soup making time! I boiled my potatoes in homemade chicken stock and because I only had half the amount of Velveeta called for, I used half Velveeta and half Cracker Barrel 2% extra sharp white cheddar. Nice basic cheddar potato soup that went well with black forest ham grilled cheese. My oldest boy chowed down on this with me. I did add a bit of Frank's Hot Sauce when I ate mine. Next time, I might add a little more cheese. NOTE: Almost all of the ingredients I used in this soup I bought cheaply at my Grocery Outlet. This soup cost next to nothing to make and it doubled real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was delicious! Made it last night and every kid - and hubby - said, "Good soup!" (and I make a LOT of soup) Creamy, delicious and very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This soup was great! When my very picky family first saw it, they turned their noses up. I told everyone that they had to at least try it, and every single one ended up loving this soup! My potatoes were very large, so I used 9 instead of 12. I also used only 4 cups of milk...I saved the potato liquid and used a cup of that in place of the last cup of milk. I hated to see that flavorful water go to waste, and the soup was very rich, creamy, and yummy without the last cup of milk! This recipe is just what I wanted, cheap, easy, family friendly, and yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I put too much milk so I added some instant potatoes to thicken, a bit of garlic powder and my husband requested some bacon bits to put on top. I didn't have any dill, but if I missed anything, I sure didn't taste it! First cold day after Summer and yummy hot soup for dinner. I'll make this again and pass it along as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I cut this recipe in half since only 2 of us were eating. I substituted 8 oz. of extra sharp white cheddar and 12 oz yellow cheddar for the processed cheese. I grated it and added it to the milk and heated and stirred the milk until it all had melted. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. We enjoyed it and will be making this again over the winter, although I may add a bit more dill and maybe a shake of worstershire. Thank you JM for a soup that will warm many a cold night at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
WOW!! I've been looking for a simple potato soup recipe and I've found it! Thanks Junebug's Mom! This was very simple and quick to prepare. We loved it and this will now be a regular in our home. I 1/2 the recipe down to 6 servings. The only thing I changed is it called for 1/2 lb of Velvetta and I used the whole pound because we are cheese lovers. The hubby and I both ate leftovers for lunch the next day at work and we both had to reheat in microwaves. Reheated it was still very good and we didn't have to add water like you sometimes have to do with other soups. Nice creamy texture. Next time I may add a little bacon or ham (after the holidays with leftovers), but it is perfectly fine as written. Also be sure to read Junebugs comment about adding salt and pepper while boiling the potatoes and adding extra cheese if you wish. This is also something I can make quickly after getting home from work, so that's a big + in my book! Thanks for an awesome recipe Junebug!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Used 2 cups of extra sharp chedder and cooked the onions with couple strips of bacon cut up. Tasted great, family loved it and no left overs. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
It's all been said, excellent soup. I added the dill just before it went on the table. This makes the flavor more intense. If you add it as the cheese melts, the flavor mellows as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States