Daddy's Whisker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
It's pretty good. I like to add cooked, chopped bacon to it. I reduce the pepper, and don't add until after the potatoes have boiled. Also, I use more dill and add in real shredded cheese. Doesn't really matter which kind. I've also added some cornstarch when I haven't wanted to mess with blending some potatoes to make it thicker. Maybe instant potatoes would work too? Either way, it's a pretty easy recipe to adapt to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momx6
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I make this soup all the time but i add hard boiled eggs to it just chop up a few and toss them in its very good. also if you like it thicker try pureeing some of the potato's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I halved the recipe since there's only two of us; that made three hearty bowls of delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love dill so I had to try this soup. However, I figured out too late I only had half the amount of velveeta needed and not quite enough milk. I replaced half of velveeta with cream cheese and used some half and half. I was feeling guilty over all the fat I addded in it so I added a cup of chopped celery. This soup is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Tasty soup, but a little watery for me, so I think I'd try a roux next time at the beginning to see if that would help. I also would recommend trying a roux if you use cheddar, which I did since I didn't have velveeta on hand. I definitely prefer the taste of cheddar but it does not melt as nicely as velveeta, so beware of that (my cheddar just stuck all togehter!). I also think I'd like a bit more dill or some additional spices to punch up the flavor a bit; otherwise, a nice fall/winter soup that works well with a sandwich. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I used chicken stock to cook the potatoes and did 1/2 sweet potatoes. Very rich and filling, great for the fall and winter! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was tasty & much quicker to make than roux-based potato-cheese soups. I do prefer the roux based variety, personally. This makes a huuuge pot of soup - I had to omit the last cup of milk because my pot was getting too full! The dill adds a welcome complexity to potato-cheese soup. Thanks for the recipe, Junebug's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious! It was like au gratin potatoes in a bowl. My husband would have liked ham (maybe wild rice too). Next time we'll add a meat. I halved the recipe but used the whole 16 oz of cheese. Saved one cup of the potato water to use instead of 1 cup of milk. Followed others and used 2 tbsp salt and 1 tbsp pepper in the water with a whole onion. (added a dash of poultry seasoning too). Added the dill at the very end and could have used a little more. My 5 year old loved it too. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Delicious! I took the advice of a reviewer and added an additional pinch of dill right before I served the soup to make the flavor a little stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanaya K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
We don't give alot of 5's in my house... but this one is for sure a 5 star recipe. Next time I might add some mustard powder, or veggies, but just as is- it's an awesome AND VERY FILLING soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States