Daddy's Whisker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I submitted this recipe and wanted to note that I actually boil the potatoes in 2 Tablespoons of salt and 1 Teaspoon of pepper. I also use 1 teaspoon of dill...or maybe a heaping teaspoon of dill and about 3/4 of a 32 oz. block of Velveeta cheese because I like the soup pretty cheesy. I have tried adding other vegetables, etc. but for some reason, I think it is the tastiest as is. I hope you enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
We really enjoyed this soup. My potatoes were fairly large so I only used 9. It was the perfect amount. I did use more cheese since the recipe submitter uses more as well. The only thing I did different was that I boiled the potatoes in chicken broth since that is how I was taught to do them for potato soup. Next time I will add more dill. It was a very quick and easy meal great for busy nights. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I cut this recipe in half since only 2 of us were eating. I substituted 8 oz. of extra sharp white cheddar and 12 oz yellow cheddar for the processed cheese. I grated it and added it to the milk and heated and stirred the milk until it all had melted. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. We enjoyed it and will be making this again over the winter, although I may add a bit more dill and maybe a shake of worstershire. Thank you JM for a soup that will warm many a cold night at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
It's Sunday--my weekly soup making time! I boiled my potatoes in homemade chicken stock and because I only had half the amount of Velveeta called for, I used half Velveeta and half Cracker Barrel 2% extra sharp white cheddar. Nice basic cheddar potato soup that went well with black forest ham grilled cheese. My oldest boy chowed down on this with me. I did add a bit of Frank's Hot Sauce when I ate mine. Next time, I might add a little more cheese. NOTE: Almost all of the ingredients I used in this soup I bought cheaply at my Grocery Outlet. This soup cost next to nothing to make and it doubled real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Followed the recipe as written. Excellent potato soup. I thought the dill would overpower this, but it didn't, I added a little at a time just in case. I didn't read the reviews until I had already made this, so the whole tablespoon of pepper went in, then I thought it needed some more, so I added another 1/4 tsp or so, it was definitely peppery, which is fine, we like pepper. No extra pepper next time. Used the velveeta and it didn't overpower the soup as you might think. All in all, a nicely balanced creamy potato soup. Easy to make, no flour, no cream, no broth, not a lot of expense. I served with a nice asiago cheese bread, it was marvelous. Thanks Junebug's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Loved this soup! Made it almost as written, except I used real sharp cheddar cheese & let the milk heat up before adding the grated cheese a handful at a time. I also did not peel the potatoes, because the peel provides fiber & extra nutrients. I decided to toss 1+ tablespoons of flour into the cheese to ensure it didn't clump up - that may not have been necessary because the potatoes do provide a starchy liquid, & because the soup thickened up when I'd put in only about 2/3 lb. of cheese - very thick! Of course it tasted delicious, but I did wind up adding more milk to my desired consistency, & even a little more when I reheated some later. A tad more dill is nice also. Wonderful soup - I will make this again! (I did taste it all along & it was great before & after the changes to milk & dill quantities.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This one totally grew on me as I ate it. It seemed way too simple and different than anything I'd made before so I didn't have too high of expectations, but it was very delicious! I cut this down to a 3 serving size and followed the recipe as written. I used nonfat milk and 2% velveeta. I did add quite a bit more s&p when tasting, and thought it could definitely use more dill (I didn't even really taste it at all). The simple veggies with the perfect cheese flavor was very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This soup was great! When my very picky family first saw it, they turned their noses up. I told everyone that they had to at least try it, and every single one ended up loving this soup! My potatoes were very large, so I used 9 instead of 12. I also used only 4 cups of milk...I saved the potato liquid and used a cup of that in place of the last cup of milk. I hated to see that flavorful water go to waste, and the soup was very rich, creamy, and yummy without the last cup of milk! This recipe is just what I wanted, cheap, easy, family friendly, and yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup. The dill flavor kind of creeps up on you, not overwhelming in the least. I did double this recipe as I am feeding a dozen people every night. This soup did not thicken up for me though. Not sure why. I thought about attempting to thicken it in a variety of ways (ie: Potato flakes, flour, cornstarch) not sure how it would have affected the taste though. So I opted to keep this recipe as it was this time. Next time I will try on of the thickening agents and see how that comes out. Very delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
We absolutely LOVED this soup! I used fat free milk cause that's all I buy. I used 1 pound of Velveeta then added about 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar and near 1 cup of shredded pepper jack. It was a little on the thin side, so I dissolved about 1- 1/2 tbsp. corn starch into a little cold water and stirred that it. When it came to a boil it was perfect consistancy. We really loved the bite that the pepper jack gave to this soup. I know I will be making this very often! Thank You Junbug's Mom for such a rich and delicious recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States