Daddy's Whisker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! This was an awesome recipe. I didn't vary from the recipe except that I did add the extra cheese like Junebug said in another rating. It was so creamy and delicious. And it was super easy also. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
good soup. i scaled it down. was a warm filling meal on a cold night. i served it with sandwiches and sliced peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
WOW!! I've been looking for a simple potato soup recipe and I've found it! Thanks Junebug's Mom! This was very simple and quick to prepare. We loved it and this will now be a regular in our home. I 1/2 the recipe down to 6 servings. The only thing I changed is it called for 1/2 lb of Velvetta and I used the whole pound because we are cheese lovers. The hubby and I both ate leftovers for lunch the next day at work and we both had to reheat in microwaves. Reheated it was still very good and we didn't have to add water like you sometimes have to do with other soups. Nice creamy texture. Next time I may add a little bacon or ham (after the holidays with leftovers), but it is perfectly fine as written. Also be sure to read Junebugs comment about adding salt and pepper while boiling the potatoes and adding extra cheese if you wish. This is also something I can make quickly after getting home from work, so that's a big + in my book! Thanks for an awesome recipe Junebug!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
UH-Mazing! So simple and fast, took me about 30 minutes to complete! It was so tasty too, I fried up some bacon and added it just thought it'd taste good. Everything else i did the same, will be making this often! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
We loved this! For me, the most time-consuming part was the peeling and dicing the potatoes- if you aren't a very efficient peeler/chopper, it may take you about 35-40 minutes to do that part. But the rest is so easy and overall it comes together quickly without much hassle. I used a 16 oz block of 2% Velveeta and skim milk, which I know isn't ideal but I thought it tasted fine- it was just thinner than it would have been had I used a milk with a higher fat content. Also, I had fresh dill on hand from another recipe so I used about 3T of fresh dill and it was great. Husband approved too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
We really loved it-great flavor! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
It's all been said, excellent soup. I added the dill just before it went on the table. This makes the flavor more intense. If you add it as the cheese melts, the flavor mellows as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ranger, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Bring on the comfort food! Woozers, this is good. I don't usually like dill, but I really like it in this recipe. Used a bit less Velveeta & garlic powder for the 2nd addition of salt. I scaled it to 3 potatoes, and mashed them a bit. I also don't peel, I like potato skin. It's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
What can I say that hasn’t been said? This is a great recipe, with great taste and texture. M’Lady actually thought that I had added cream to the dish! This will definitely be made again and again in this household. We are eager to try this with other cheeses, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States