Daddy's Whisker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
It's pretty good. I like to add cooked, chopped bacon to it. I reduce the pepper, and don't add until after the potatoes have boiled. Also, I use more dill and add in real shredded cheese. Doesn't really matter which kind. I've also added some cornstarch when I haven't wanted to mess with blending some potatoes to make it thicker. Maybe instant potatoes would work too? Either way, it's a pretty easy recipe to adapt to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momx6
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I make this soup all the time but i add hard boiled eggs to it just chop up a few and toss them in its very good. also if you like it thicker try pureeing some of the potato's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I halved the recipe since there's only two of us; that made three hearty bowls of delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love dill so I had to try this soup. However, I figured out too late I only had half the amount of velveeta needed and not quite enough milk. I replaced half of velveeta with cream cheese and used some half and half. I was feeling guilty over all the fat I addded in it so I added a cup of chopped celery. This soup is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Tasty soup, but a little watery for me, so I think I'd try a roux next time at the beginning to see if that would help. I also would recommend trying a roux if you use cheddar, which I did since I didn't have velveeta on hand. I definitely prefer the taste of cheddar but it does not melt as nicely as velveeta, so beware of that (my cheddar just stuck all togehter!). I also think I'd like a bit more dill or some additional spices to punch up the flavor a bit; otherwise, a nice fall/winter soup that works well with a sandwich. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I used chicken stock to cook the potatoes and did 1/2 sweet potatoes. Very rich and filling, great for the fall and winter! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was tasty & much quicker to make than roux-based potato-cheese soups. I do prefer the roux based variety, personally. This makes a huuuge pot of soup - I had to omit the last cup of milk because my pot was getting too full! The dill adds a welcome complexity to potato-cheese soup. Thanks for the recipe, Junebug's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious! It was like au gratin potatoes in a bowl. My husband would have liked ham (maybe wild rice too). Next time we'll add a meat. I halved the recipe but used the whole 16 oz of cheese. Saved one cup of the potato water to use instead of 1 cup of milk. Followed others and used 2 tbsp salt and 1 tbsp pepper in the water with a whole onion. (added a dash of poultry seasoning too). Added the dill at the very end and could have used a little more. My 5 year old loved it too. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Delicious! I took the advice of a reviewer and added an additional pinch of dill right before I served the soup to make the flavor a little stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanaya K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
We don't give alot of 5's in my house... but this one is for sure a 5 star recipe. Next time I might add some mustard powder, or veggies, but just as is- it's an awesome AND VERY FILLING soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States