Daddy's Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ali B
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Perfect popcorn recipe! So much fun to make with my son. Delicious for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The only thing I changed is that I used a 1/4 cup of melted refined virgin coconut oil and 1/4 cup of popcorn (not the microwaveable kind). There was no coconutty taste to the popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My pot is cheap, old and not a brand name, so while the kernels were popping, I thought for sure I was going to get some burnt ones, especially since I couldn't shake it much without the lid sliding off. As soon as there was a couple seconds pause with the next pop, I took it off the heat, thinking I'd have a lot of unpopped kernels. Not only did nothing burn, but there were only a few unpopped kernels. I usually get a lot of unpopped kernals in the microwave-version, plus some burnt ones because I often try to get as much kernels to pop. Not only is this so much more economical, but really doesn't take much extra time then the microwave-version. Just, instead of standing by, listening and watching the microwave, just need to shake it a little. And it's better for the environment too, if you just stir it all up in a large bowl rather than a paper bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
this is how it was done before microwaves! we would make a big bag and take to the drive ins! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe was so easy and very tasty. I substituted the vegetable oil and used Pompeian Olive Extra Plus, which is a blend of Canola and Extra Virgin Olive Oils. Taste Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Too much oil. Take it easy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
SO good! I have tried to make homemade popcorn many times and failed. First time I've succeeded....so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I just made a bowl of this awesome popcorn. Enough for one as I am by myself. Ate the whole thing, no waste since I could adjust the serving size. Much better than microwavable. I added regular salt to the butter and oil and popped the corn. Didn't have to add any additional. I sprinkled some butter flavored seasoning once popped and shook to distribute. Tasted buttery and pretty close to movie theatre popcorn. Now I know the secret to good flavored stovetop popcorn. Excellent recipe and no more microwave popcorn. I even bought the store brand corn and I only had 3 unpopped kernels. Not bad. One poster bought expensive Orville Reddenbocher corn. Not necessary, Great Value from Walmart worked just fine. Like I said, 3 unpopped kernels. Now I will start eating more popcorn. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It is a simple and easy recipe. You can make anytime for light snack, corn oil can be used as vegetable oil to have a healthier popcorn. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Fantastic. The paper bag idea is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States