Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is the best chili I have ever had - and I lived in Texas for two years. I do a couple of things - most notably ¼ cup of dark chocolate. It really adds some complexity to the flavors. I came in 2nd in a neighborhood Chili Cook-Off with this recipe - everyone raved about it. I think I would have won if the winner didn't bring their entire, extended family to vote for theirs - but shhhsh - told tell anyone I said that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
And finally! a recipe without beans...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Delicious. I had to modify the recipe a tiny bit for the palate of an 8 year old. Had to use just a pinch or two of the chili pepper and used anaheim pepper instead of jalapeno. My kiddo, who is not a fan of ground beef even ate this. I have made this twice in the past 2 weeks. Thanks for the great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this the night before, reheated it, and took it over to our friend's chili cook-off. It won first place, beating 13 other entries! The chili was wonderfully thick and hearty with just the right balance of chili spices and heat. I think the masa harina flour is a must, giving the dish another dimension of flavor. Definitely my new go-to chili recipe. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My absolute favorite chili. Usually I make internet recipes by looking at 3-4 different recipes for the same thing and then sort of blending them into my own creation, but this chili is just right as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is some of the best chili I've had! I scaled the recipe down to 5 servings, using 2 pounds of beef. It reminds me a bit of the chili sauce that comes on top of beef enchiladas at Tex-Mex restaurants. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is our new favorite chili recipe. I've made it several times and it always turns out beautifully. For the reviewers who cannot find red chile powder, look in the mexican foods section or go to a mexican market. I'm in Texas so it's not hard to find, but I can imagine it might be in other states. Cayenne is not red chile powder! They are not made from the same type of chile. Anyway.. I have a family of 5 with 3 teens and we rarely ever have any leftovers. If we do get lucky, it's even better the next day. I follow the recipe exactly with the exception of occasionally using jarred diced garlic packed in oil instead of fresh.. but you cannot tell the difference. I also use jarred diced jalapeno when I don't have the time to go pick up fresh. Masa harina is usually not necessary because this is a thick, thick chili. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I see several posts saying be sure to use ground red chili pepper and not cayenne pepper. Can someone explain the difference? I went to the store looking for red chili pepper but could not find anything labeled that. I found red pepper--searching the internet says that is the same as cayenne. I also found chili powder which is red - but nothing labeled red chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My husband liked this. I felt it needed more tomato taste, but I may just use crushed tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This recipe created a very bland, overly 'beefy' chili. We (both Texans, by the way) followed the recipe exactly and didn't even save the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States