Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Absolutely the best chili I've ever put in my mouth. We are taking it to a Church Chili Cook Off tonight and I think we have a winner. We cut the recipe in 1/2 and had a full crock pot. We'll be making this again. We backed off just a little on the spices, but not much and chopped the jalapeno fine and added the whole thing(no seeds). Thanks for the GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tarkio, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I researched chili recipies on this site and found this one that I especially liked. We were having a Chili cook-off at church and I wanted to enter. I made this recipe exactly as it is written and I won 1st place. I was so excited. I was totally honest and told them where I found the recipe and the name of it. I won a little chili pepper cowboy. Thanks for the great recipe: everyone at church wants it. This chili had the most outstanding taste of any chili I had ever eaten.It isn't too hot either; just right. Thanks again!!! I will make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was really good. My husband and kiddos really liked it, and my husband does not like chili. This converted him, though. I have made it with chili meat, stew meat, and ground beef, but I prefer the ground beef (or game) because chili meat is too gristly for me. It makes alot, by the way, but freezes well! Be sure that your ground red pepper is NOT cayenne unless you want to blister your mouth! :) Cayenne can be added for more heat, though. I could not find ground red chile pepper, so I assumed ground chipotle pepper would work, and it does. I added about 3 tablespoons of that and it added a smoky flavor. It kinda reminded me of hot dog chili due to its consistency. I took a poll of who wanted beans in the chili, but nobody did. True, being from Texas, we just don't typically add beans to our chili. All in all, pretty easy to make and filling. My kids even asked for me to send it to school with them so they could heat it up for lunch! They are young and don't tolerate too much heat, but this is perfect for them. If it is too hot, you probably added cayenne pepper instead of another type. Lastly, it does well in a crockpot if you are not home during the day. I usually let it simmer on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Yum! Nice and spicy, but not over the top. Great flavor. One of the best chilis I've had. I scaled to use 2 lbs. beef, and used lean ground beef. Here are the minor changes I made: I added a bit of liquid smoke, used V8 instead of tomato sauce, used regular paprika, left out the jalapenos, and didn't need the flour as I just estimated the water. I added a little ground black pepper, forgot the oregano, and cooked in a crock pot on low for several hours instead of simmering, for convenience's sake. Also--I'm Texan and agree about the "no beans" rule, but my waistline disagrees so I added one can of ranch beans and one can of kidney beans, drained but not rinsed. My husband loved it, said he could eat it every week. It was too spicy for the kids. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
let me say that I was scared to cook chili. I thought there were only 2 kinds, good or bad, and this one is GREAT. I cooked it and served at work, I cut the recipe in 1/2 but there was no need because it went FAST! Way to go DAD! As a fellow Texan...thanks for the recipe ya'll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I've always heard that when having a party, never try a new recipe. Well, I'm glad I went out on a limb to risk trying this chili for the first time for a New Year's Eve party my husband and I had. I followed it to the letter, and thought the beef was going to be too tough to eat when it was done (the cubes were cut by the butcher and were quite large). As it cooked, however, the meat got very tender and all of the spices and the rest of the ingredients melded together for one of the best chilis I've ever had! Thanks for posting this one--and thank daddy for us! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I've never cooked a chili before, but thought this one looked good for an entry into our Church Chili Cook-off. I followed the recipe almost to the letter. I did add about half a cup of Youth Juice (fresh berries & seaweed), a little red wine, and one Habanero chili. My wife did the shopping, and my daughter was the official taster. We cooked it Friday nigh, let it sit off heat until Saturday noon, then re-heated & added the flour. Result? First place in the contest. Great chili Daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is an excelent chili. I didn't do anything different to it but just eat it. I believe if I had of been at the Alamo, I would not have participated after eating this chili because I would have found a pillow and went to sleep. That's how great it is. I rate it a "10".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helanajean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was the first time I made chili from scratch! It came out wonderful and everyone loved it! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBIRDSNPLANES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I've made this recipe twice. Once using the chopped beef, and once using the coarse ground beef. We liked the ground beef better. This is the best tasting chili I have ever made. We took it to a football tailgate party and not a speck of the chili was left. It is really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States