Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I researched chili recipies on this site and found this one that I especially liked. We were having a Chili cook-off at church and I wanted to enter. I made this recipe exactly as it is written and I won 1st place. I was so excited. I was totally honest and told them where I found the recipe and the name of it. I won a little chili pepper cowboy. Thanks for the great recipe: everyone at church wants it. This chili had the most outstanding taste of any chili I had ever eaten.It isn't too hot either; just right. Thanks again!!! I will make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I've always heard that when having a party, never try a new recipe. Well, I'm glad I went out on a limb to risk trying this chili for the first time for a New Year's Eve party my husband and I had. I followed it to the letter, and thought the beef was going to be too tough to eat when it was done (the cubes were cut by the butcher and were quite large). As it cooked, however, the meat got very tender and all of the spices and the rest of the ingredients melded together for one of the best chilis I've ever had! Thanks for posting this one--and thank daddy for us! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This was amazing! It had a wonderful smoky flavor- not too tomatoey. I made it with stew meat (beef chuck cut into small pieces so it wasn't too tough) and no beans. I wasn't sure what type of mild chili powder/ground chile to use, so I used some ground New Mexico chiles (rather than the store-brand chili powder that already has the cumin and garlic mixed in) and just a little cayenne (not the full amount of ground red chile pepper that the recipe calls for) and it was plenty spicy with a fantastic flavor. I also did not add the full amount of flour as it was plenty thick, but the masa also added a very nice flavor. Goes very well with Amusement Park Cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
OK folks, I've Judged chili contests and have a number of chili recipes that I use for contests and gatherings. I made this recipe for an Engagement Party last night and had numerous compliments. Three adjustments I made, double the cumin, increased the jalapenos to 1 and 1/2 and finely chopped them and cooked it for 3hrs. The increased cooking time took the meat from OK to melt in your mouth tender and the consistancy required no masa. No one had less than two bowls. Great recipe for those that don't like beans. Thanks "Daddy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Yum! Nice and spicy, but not over the top. Great flavor. One of the best chilis I've had. I scaled to use 2 lbs. beef, and used lean ground beef. Here are the minor changes I made: I added a bit of liquid smoke, used V8 instead of tomato sauce, used regular paprika, left out the jalapenos, and didn't need the flour as I just estimated the water. I added a little ground black pepper, forgot the oregano, and cooked in a crock pot on low for several hours instead of simmering, for convenience's sake. Also--I'm Texan and agree about the "no beans" rule, but my waistline disagrees so I added one can of ranch beans and one can of kidney beans, drained but not rinsed. My husband loved it, said he could eat it every week. It was too spicy for the kids. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
It has been unusually Cold in So Cal. lately and I needed a warm chili to warm up my family. We loved this! I used beer in place of the H2O since there is more flavor in beer. I also cut up skirt steak and Yes, I added beans too! My hubby Loves beans so he gets them:) I used a couple different ground chilies for this and the longer it sat, the hotter and Better it got! I made some toasted sourdough garlic bread to round out the meal. Thank you KiKi I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is an excelent chili. I didn't do anything different to it but just eat it. I believe if I had of been at the Alamo, I would not have participated after eating this chili because I would have found a pillow and went to sleep. That's how great it is. I rate it a "10".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helanajean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A big "THANK YOU" to your daddy! We loved it! Next time I will buy better cuts of stew beef from a local butcher. (I wasn't pleased with the stew beef I purchased.) I think I'll play with the recipe by adding different types of peppers to it as well, but as written it was very good! Personal family preference dictates that I add the bacon in this household! Thank so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, only I made it for 5 servings instead of 20 (2 lbs beef). Then after a bit of tasting and pondering I added a couple splashes of lime juice, a generous pinch of sugar, chopped wild onions and some fresh cilantro, and upon serving topped with sour cream, cheddar cheese, a few bits of wild onion, a thin half-round slice of lime and a spring of cilantro. Excellent aesthetics combined with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States