Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Best chili I've had in a long time! Loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
let me say that I was scared to cook chili. I thought there were only 2 kinds, good or bad, and this one is GREAT. I cooked it and served at work, I cut the recipe in 1/2 but there was no need because it went FAST! Way to go DAD! As a fellow Texan...thanks for the recipe ya'll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
very good chili...only needed to use one pot. easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Yum! Nice and spicy, but not over the top. Great flavor. One of the best chilis I've had. I scaled to use 2 lbs. beef, and used lean ground beef. Here are the minor changes I made: I added a bit of liquid smoke, used V8 instead of tomato sauce, used regular paprika, left out the jalapenos, and didn't need the flour as I just estimated the water. I added a little ground black pepper, forgot the oregano, and cooked in a crock pot on low for several hours instead of simmering, for convenience's sake. Also--I'm Texan and agree about the "no beans" rule, but my waistline disagrees so I added one can of ranch beans and one can of kidney beans, drained but not rinsed. My husband loved it, said he could eat it every week. It was too spicy for the kids. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was really good. My husband and kiddos really liked it, and my husband does not like chili. This converted him, though. I have made it with chili meat, stew meat, and ground beef, but I prefer the ground beef (or game) because chili meat is too gristly for me. It makes alot, by the way, but freezes well! Be sure that your ground red pepper is NOT cayenne unless you want to blister your mouth! :) Cayenne can be added for more heat, though. I could not find ground red chile pepper, so I assumed ground chipotle pepper would work, and it does. I added about 3 tablespoons of that and it added a smoky flavor. It kinda reminded me of hot dog chili due to its consistency. I took a poll of who wanted beans in the chili, but nobody did. True, being from Texas, we just don't typically add beans to our chili. All in all, pretty easy to make and filling. My kids even asked for me to send it to school with them so they could heat it up for lunch! They are young and don't tolerate too much heat, but this is perfect for them. If it is too hot, you probably added cayenne pepper instead of another type. Lastly, it does well in a crockpot if you are not home during the day. I usually let it simmer on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I researched chili recipies on this site and found this one that I especially liked. We were having a Chili cook-off at church and I wanted to enter. I made this recipe exactly as it is written and I won 1st place. I was so excited. I was totally honest and told them where I found the recipe and the name of it. I won a little chili pepper cowboy. Thanks for the great recipe: everyone at church wants it. This chili had the most outstanding taste of any chili I had ever eaten.It isn't too hot either; just right. Thanks again!!! I will make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Absolutely the best chili I've ever put in my mouth. We are taking it to a Church Chili Cook Off tonight and I think we have a winner. We cut the recipe in 1/2 and had a full crock pot. We'll be making this again. We backed off just a little on the spices, but not much and chopped the jalapeno fine and added the whole thing(no seeds). Thanks for the GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tarkio, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Used Chili meat...yuck, won't do that again. Overall, my family just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This was amazing! It had a wonderful smoky flavor- not too tomatoey. I made it with stew meat (beef chuck cut into small pieces so it wasn't too tough) and no beans. I wasn't sure what type of mild chili powder/ground chile to use, so I used some ground New Mexico chiles (rather than the store-brand chili powder that already has the cumin and garlic mixed in) and just a little cayenne (not the full amount of ground red chile pepper that the recipe calls for) and it was plenty spicy with a fantastic flavor. I also did not add the full amount of flour as it was plenty thick, but the masa also added a very nice flavor. Goes very well with Amusement Park Cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States