Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I've made this recipe twice. Once using the chopped beef, and once using the coarse ground beef. We liked the ground beef better. This is the best tasting chili I have ever made. We took it to a football tailgate party and not a speck of the chili was left. It is really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was the first time I made chili from scratch! It came out wonderful and everyone loved it! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBIRDSNPLANES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this but ended tweaking it quite a bit i use WAYYYY more chili paowder and cumin and had to add a lot of water it called for too much masa. I did like the end product though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is an excelent chili. I didn't do anything different to it but just eat it. I believe if I had of been at the Alamo, I would not have participated after eating this chili because I would have found a pillow and went to sleep. That's how great it is. I rate it a "10".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helanajean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I've never cooked a chili before, but thought this one looked good for an entry into our Church Chili Cook-off. I followed the recipe almost to the letter. I did add about half a cup of Youth Juice (fresh berries & seaweed), a little red wine, and one Habanero chili. My wife did the shopping, and my daughter was the official taster. We cooked it Friday nigh, let it sit off heat until Saturday noon, then re-heated & added the flour. Result? First place in the contest. Great chili Daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I've always heard that when having a party, never try a new recipe. Well, I'm glad I went out on a limb to risk trying this chili for the first time for a New Year's Eve party my husband and I had. I followed it to the letter, and thought the beef was going to be too tough to eat when it was done (the cubes were cut by the butcher and were quite large). As it cooked, however, the meat got very tender and all of the spices and the rest of the ingredients melded together for one of the best chilis I've ever had! Thanks for posting this one--and thank daddy for us! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
sorry, i've had better chili at waffle house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, only I made it for 5 servings instead of 20 (2 lbs beef). Then after a bit of tasting and pondering I added a couple splashes of lime juice, a generous pinch of sugar, chopped wild onions and some fresh cilantro, and upon serving topped with sour cream, cheddar cheese, a few bits of wild onion, a thin half-round slice of lime and a spring of cilantro. Excellent aesthetics combined with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was pretty good stuff. I think that it was actually better the next day. Don't skip out on the masa harina. That really pulls it all together. I used a combination of New Mexico chili poweder and California chili powder. It didn't seem to have enough cumin taste for me. So I added quite a bit more after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Best chili I've had in a long time! Loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States