Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't have time to simmer it at all but it was still great. The flavor was a little too mild but I'm not sure if that's just because I didn't let it simmer at all. You may want to double the spices. Also, I used cut up bacon instead of bacon drippings. Great recipe and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A big "THANK YOU" to your daddy! We loved it! Next time I will buy better cuts of stew beef from a local butcher. (I wasn't pleased with the stew beef I purchased.) I think I'll play with the recipe by adding different types of peppers to it as well, but as written it was very good! Personal family preference dictates that I add the bacon in this household! Thank so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
It has been unusually Cold in So Cal. lately and I needed a warm chili to warm up my family. We loved this! I used beer in place of the H2O since there is more flavor in beer. I also cut up skirt steak and Yes, I added beans too! My hubby Loves beans so he gets them:) I used a couple different ground chilies for this and the longer it sat, the hotter and Better it got! I made some toasted sourdough garlic bread to round out the meal. Thank you KiKi I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is a WONDERFUL chili. I subbed a can of beef broth for an equal amount of the water, chopped up the jalepeno, used smoked paprika and simmered it for 3 hours. My husband loved it and was so glad we found a good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I won a chili cook-off on Halloween with this recipe! The only changes I made was that I used smoky paprika instead of Hungarian paprika. I used a combo of New Mexico chili powder, California chili powder, and Ancho chili powder. The store was having a sale on sirloin so I used that and had the butcher use the chili grinder to make it coarse. I got rave reviews! Thanks Daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
The absolute BEST chili!! I scaled to 10 servings and it made about 5 quarts of chili which is plenty for us. My only substitutions were organic smoked paprika instead of Hungarian paprika, Tarragon instead of Mexican oregano and a 1/2 tsp. of cayenne red pepper instead of jalapeno. I used organic tomato sauce & tomato paste just for better quality. You will regret it if you substitute the masa harina flour - this hominy and corn flour gives it the best, authentic, "Texas" taste!!! Plus, it's also gluten-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Way too hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is the BEST chili I have ever made! My husband and son cannot handle beans in chili so I was so happy to find this recipe. Changes: Scaled recipe to five, so don't use my changes unless you account for that!! I used olive oil instead of bacon drippings, chipotle chili powder instead of ground red chili pepper (also I DID use the regular chili powder called for), regular paprika instead of Hungarian, dried cilantro instead of Mexican oregano, 1 can of French onion soup, 2 t. salt instead of 1 1/2 t., one can of ro-tel pureed instead of jalapeno, and when I added the masa harina flour at the end I added one can of CREAMED corn. I tasted before and after the corn and there was a HUGE difference as far as my personal preferences go. Also, if you have children or anyone sensitive to the spiciness, the cream corn seemed to take the edge of the heat from the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
A little dull in taste and the beef wasn't as tender as expected. Might be me but I followed pretty much the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States