Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I see several posts saying be sure to use ground red chili pepper and not cayenne pepper. Can someone explain the difference? I went to the store looking for red chili pepper but could not find anything labeled that. I found red pepper--searching the internet says that is the same as cayenne. I also found chili powder which is red - but nothing labeled red chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My husband liked this. I felt it needed more tomato taste, but I may just use crushed tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This recipe created a very bland, overly 'beefy' chili. We (both Texans, by the way) followed the recipe exactly and didn't even save the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
We really liked this chili although I have to day that I reduced the amounts because there are only 2 of us here. I think that the biggest change that I made to this recipe was to not add any water. Everything else I did as instructed. I just did not think that any water was necessary. We loved it. Served it with hot dogs cheese and green onions. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and it was way, way, way to hot. Even for a crowd that loves spicy. It might be my fault since the recipe called for 1/2 a jalepeno, which meant cutting it in half...if you do try this, maybe still keep 1 jalepeno whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Excellent Chili! Made this for the first time a few years back for Christmas Eve dinner and it has become a family tradition since. I have followed the recipe as called for but have let the chili on low for 3-4 more hours. As another reviewer noted, the meat goes from OK to melt in your mouth tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David McLerran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I made this chili a couple weekends ago, almost as is, and am just getting to review it. My familyand I are meat lover's. This chili is definately for the meat lover. I used chuck roast instead of stew meat and it turned out to be a perfectly meat choice for this partucular chili. I used California Red Chili powder because it's more mild than other types. I guess one thing I could have done without was the grainess from the masa harina. I had never cooked with it before so I didn't expect it. Next time I'll add a small can of beef broth to make up for the extra water need for the masa to absorb and get soft. Maybe that'll help with the grainyness Overall, though, 5 star for taste, ease of assembly, and hearty goodness. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyCooks83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Something must have went wrong. This is not the Chili others have reviewed. I tried to follow the recipe to a "T," but made the following mods. I cooked it in a Roaster over 2 burners. I don't think that made a difference. I added 1 TBSP of Butcher's Pepper (I love pepper). Substituted Beef Broth for Water. Regular Paprika instead of Hungarian. Regular Oregano instead of Mexican. Corn Tortillas (ground) instead of Masa Harina. The Chili is plenty spicy. I like spicy food, but this Chili was borderline too hot. The consistency is too thick. Perhaps I should have used less or no Masa. The meat came out too beefy. I used Chuck Steak. Maybe it could have been browned longer. I followed the directions, but 8lbs is a lot of meat. It probably would have been better had the meat been cooked longer. The meat is very tender, maybe the beef broth was overkill. The Chili was fun to make and everything seemed to go according to the recipe. I can't understand why it tastes...So...Blah. I mean it tastes like hot beef not chili. That is my best attempt at describing the taste. If, by reading the other reviews, you are inclined to make this Chili, consider the following: A) Try half the amount of Ground Red Chili Peppers. You can always add the rest later. B) Make sure the meat is good and brown as stated in the recipe. C) Use half or totally eliminate Masa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huntclan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is awesome chili! I made some slight changes based on other reviews. I halved the recipe, then halved the spices, doubled the cumin, and left out the jalepeno. I'm sort of a spice wimp, but this left it hot and flavorful but not scalding. If you're not a big fan of super-spicy foods, the recipe as it stands will probably be WAY too hot, so start small and adjust later. But the flavor was still amazing! I also used much less liquid because I cooked it in my slow cooker (8 hrs on low after browning the meat). I combined the tomato paste, sauce, and beef broth (instead of water) and just guessed, and ended up using about half of what was called for. Another thing that affected the amount of liquid I used is that I did not add the masa harina because I'm on a grain-free diet. My boyfriend has never had good chili and doesn't like beans, so I'm hoping this will convert him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Some of the best chili I have ever had. No beans of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States