Daddy's Guacamole Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I recommend to puree the cottage cheese before adding to mixture to create a smoother consistency. Great dip recipe and a healthy addition with the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Taste is superb (but do let it chill several hours before serving). I used the juice of two limes and real garlic pre-chopped in a jar. If you want to disguise the cottage cheese you can use blender. The cottage cheese gets milage out of the avacado, stretching it without sacrificing taste. Really wonderful, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I only made a half recipe since there were only four of us eating this, but it disappeared quickly! Since hubby and I don't really like cottage cheese, I knew I'd have to take the suggestion of another reviewer and blend it in the magic bullet first. This was an excellent idea! I blended the cottage cheese and half the avocodo with the lemon juice and added real minced garlic. I then mashed up the other half of the avocado and added the onion and tomato for texture. We really enjoyed this recipe. I too added hot sauce, cumin and juice from the jar of jalapenos for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Growing up I hated avocadoes and I hadn't tried to eat them since I was a kid so I bought a couple the other day thinking I'd try them out again. I still didn't like them... until I made this dip that is. It is phenomenal! I blended everything up in the food processor and left out the sweet onion. I also used real garlic instead of garlic powder. It is absolutely delicious. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
It seems to need a bit more pizzaz, maybe some hot sauce or more peppers, but it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Almost perfect! Next time I would add an extra avocado and leave it a bit chunky to help the avocado flavor come thru more. I left the cottage cheese ‘whole’ (as directed), to help give this texture and am glad I did. By not pureeing, I saved time and extra dishwashing. I also used fresh garlic rather than powdered. The only other change I would make next time is to add more jalapeño – but that is just a personal spiciness choice. P.S. to this original review: I made this for a party and it was placed right next to a bowl of regular Guacamole. The regular bowl was empty and my bowl (this recipe) was still full by the time the party ended. I feel it was because the cottage cheese dilutes the avocado flavor and it's not the most attractive dish. On the upside, the LOWFAT cottage cheese also dilutes the fat calories. Had to change my rating from 4 to 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is my choice guac dip recipe. I've noticed people who don't usually care for guac are even pleased with this take on it. The cottage cheese helps it keep longer and I for one like the texture. Only reason it get 4 stars instead of 5 is the slight lack of avocado taste. I use 3 rather than 2. I also use minced garlic over the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. A great way to extend the guacamole. I preferred to use lime juice and two chopped garlic cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The best recipe I have found on this site to date!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was okay. I thought the consistancy was weird. Maybe a little less cottage cheese and more avacado? And it needed flavor so I added some juice from the jalepeno jar which really helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States